We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect breakfast spot near el parque!”
Review of Cafe Condesa

Cafe Condesa
Ranked #3 of 15 Dessert in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $10
Cuisines: International, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Delicious, delectable, fresh, organic...everything homemade and locally sourced. Located on the Central Park of Antigua, Cafe Condesa has been serving locals, nationals and international tourists alike since 1993. It's three outdoor dining areas plus three indoor spaces provide a colonial setting in which to enjoy a meal or a snack. Breakfast is served all day long and our famous "bottomless" cup of 100% Antigua grown coffee has been a mainstay. Come early morning for breakfast, late morning for homemade chai and a muffin, lunchtime for a lovely salad and soup, late afternoon for coffee and cake, evening for a glass of wine and a quiche. A friendly waitstaff and a homey, relaxed atmosphere makes Cafe Condesa a home away from home. Three Cafe Condesa Express located around town, allow you to enjoy our many of our treats on the go.
Reviewed December 25, 2012

Enjoyed several wonderful breakfasts here. The vanilla hot chocolate is a MUST. The food was top notch, coffee delicious and the setting sublime. We heard that it is an "expat hangout" so the prices are a bit higher. There is also a nice bookstore in the front, and a place to buy tickets ($20/each) for Elizabeth Bell's walking tours, which we heard are excellent. This is a good first place to stop if you've just arrived and are settling in.

Thank Tamara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ginger H, Owner at Cafe Condesa, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2012

Thanks so much for your lovely recommendation! We are glad you kept coming back for our delicious breakfasts!! We love finding out from clients that we were their "first stop", their" last stop" and then their "many stops" in between.

Since my background was in the restaurant business, our prices reflect our costs of raw goods, overhead (some things are expensive and in U.S.$$) and labor --- a fair wage for all 50+ people on staff. Since the get-go, we´ve simply used the standard industry formula and here we are, almost 20 years later, still feeding people and still supporting our workers and their families Yes, we are an expat hangout, a favorite with locals, a weekend must for Guatemala City folks and a haven for tourists. We thank you greatly for letting folks know about us and, in turn, supporting our workers and their families as well.

Warm wishes for a wonderful 2013! We hope to see you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,049)
There are newer reviews for Cafe Condesa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

570 - 574 of 1,049 reviews

Reviewed December 22, 2012

I love breakfast and it seems like one of the easiest meals to get right. Cafe Condesa is just OK. Had huevos rancheros and was a bit disappointed by the blandness and the fact that there were no tortillas under the eggs. Just basically two fried eggs with mediocre salsa. (I do live in Mexico so maybe I've just been spoiled.) For something more special try Numa, Luna de Miel or Rainbow Cafe. Much more creative menus and prepared more thoughtfully. Cafe Condesa is a bit of a tourist trap and a large, impersonal place for groups, in my humble opinion.

Thank FanIAm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ginger H, Owner at Cafe Condesa, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2012

Ouch!!!
Yes, Huevos Rancheros Guatemalan Style are quite different than in México.... I am now prompted to put that on the menu. The salsa is quite mild, served on the side and has no chilis in it..

I´ll have to argue with you about our menu not being creative.... we serve over a dozen breakfast items with several being daily specials that change according to the season... pancakes of the day, omelette of the day, muffin of the day. Plus our bottomless coffee cup comes with breakfast... an anomaly in Antigua. We have a large variety of soups, salads, sandwiches, "antojitos" and desserts galore.... and everything is made right here on the premises!

We are not a tourist trap... We love tourists and we rely on locals and folks from the City as well. For the last 19 years we have had the best of both worlds. It totally depends upon what day and what time of day you come to the Condesa as to whom you will find populating the tables.

Impersonal? I have to argue that point, too. We strive to be a home away from home, a place of respite and no hassle. We pride ourselves in the beauty of our location, the quality of our food and the amazing dedication of a staff of over 50 people who keep the cogs in the wheel turning.

I hope you will reconsider and visit us again on your next trip to Antigua.
Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Great lunch spot, terrific sandwiches with FRESH local ingredients, very different than the usual fare. Coffee is to die for, desserts as well. I kept sneaking back all week for the sweets! We never had dinner there, and I don't remember why. The charm of the courtyards is wonderful, and it is a great place to people watch!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jdennisg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ginger H, Owner at Cafe Condesa, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2012

Thank you so much for your glowing review... especially of our desserts and coffee. You are right, all is fresh and all is homemade! We are very proud of our large selection of cakes, pies, and ice-cream desserts. Next time, try one of our lovely soups or sandwiches! You´ll can also appreciate the freshness of our homebaked bread!!

We hope to see you on your next trip to Guatemala!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2012

First, the location (right on the central square) is fantastic. Second, Cafe Condesa serves the best pancakes outside of the USA and IHOP.

Thank Travelpassionista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ginger H, Owner at Cafe Condesa, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2012

THANK YOU, Thank You, thank you!
We hope you like the Pancakes of the Day which take advantage of the fruits of the season.... or the Pancakes Andrés (oatmeal pancakes with wide variety of fruits)... or the regular Three Big Ones... all are served with our local fresh cream (like creme fraiche).

All of our breakfasts come with a "bottomless" cup of coffee or hot tea.

ENJOY!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2012

The town of Antigua, Guatemala is either a "classical example of a town preserved throughout the years", or "just another Central American 'cowboy' town with not much to offer other that barred windows and heavily armed security guards everywhere".

I will leave it up to visitors to decide, but just off the main square there is Cafe Condessa which is a real 'oasis' and a lovely spot to sit quietly over a good coffee and a dip made from avocado, lemon juice, tomato and onion, and accompanied by nachos.

This cafe is located in a very pretty garden and the service is good. The coffee was also good and there is also a range or cafe style food including sandwiches and pizza.

The food will never win a five-star rating but for a simple, pretty place for a quiet lunch or breakfast, it is recommended.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank pisang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ginger H, Owner at Cafe Condesa, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2012

Thanks you for your recommendation! We agree that we are a lovely oasis out of the hub-bub of the streets of Antigua... our gurgling fountains are the only background noise you´ll hear except for the clattering of forks and spoons against plates.

We do have a wide range of food (no pizza, sorry!) from soups to sandwiches, to desserts to breakfast served all day long. We have daily specials to take advantage of the seasonal fruits and veggies. We aspire to be a home-away-from-home where you can enjoy home-cooked food in a lovely atmosphere.... we´ll let you be the judge of our accomplishments!

Warm regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Condesa also viewed

Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
 
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
 

Been to Cafe Condesa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing