We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fernando's is a charming place”
Review of Fernando's Kaffee

Fernando's Kaffee
Ranked #1 of 15 Dessert in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $8
Cuisines: Guatemalan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Every item in our menu is made here from scratch. Plenty of gluten free options to choose from. All our juices are prepared with fresh ingredients and "Juiced" on the spot, without adding sugar, water or milk. We provide a wide variety of "From Bean to Bar" Chocolate, Roast our own coffee, both in the premises and in view of the customers.
Calgary, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Fernando's is a charming place”
Reviewed December 23, 2013

Loved this cafe. Wonderful breakfasts, fresh pressed juices available, high quality coffee and chocolate. Probably some of the best coffee in town. Pricey by Guatemalan standards but affordable by North American standards. Many varieties of chocolate bars available (chocolate+cardamon, dark chocolate + black pepper, etc). Lovely courtyard with foliage, strong wifi, a peaceful place to chill or get some work done.

For ~39Q they also offered a packed lunch - salami and cheese sandwich on fresh baguette, fruit,homemade granola bar and juice. This was great to bring on a volcano hike if food wasn't provided.

They sell 1 pound bags of their roasted beans. We took one home. They kept it at a lighter roast and makes for an extremely nutty cup of fresh coffee. Glad to be able to enjoy some Fernando's here in Canada.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank meeeohhmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

583 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    383
    149
    39
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid
Level 6 Contributor
581 reviews
290 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 245 helpful votes
“good coffee + nice food (and wonderful juices) and have it on a lovely patio”
Reviewed December 18, 2013

This is only one of a very limited number of places where you can get 4-5 fresh juices in Guatemala, so there´s plenty for coffee fans and for juice fans (we are both, so had them both as well!) We took advantage of our stop here to have a light lunch after having been away on an excursion, and boy, was the empanada worth it! We finally shared a day soup and an empanada and ended up full. The owners seem to be puzzle fans, as the walls (and some table tops) are covered by finished puzzles : original! The patio is very enjoyable. Closes early though (7-8pm).

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank onzils
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Delicious and great atmosphere”
Reviewed December 15, 2013

Excellent place to relax in the afternoon.
we had a club sandwich each that came with a salad. The portions were large and the food was very tasty. The courtyard is pleasant and there's a great atmosphere.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Perthchic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
257 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“what a gem!”
Reviewed December 7, 2013

Really enjoyed our breakfast experience here.

Fernandos had been recommended by a local who told us the crepes were to die for. He was right! delicious! The fresh juices were also amazing. I did not have a coffee, but from smelling the coffee aromas of freshly brewed coffee,i can only imagine how good it is!

There is free wifi which is incredibly useful for travellers. Just ask for the password.

We really enjoyed our experience here and sitting the garden was very peaceful

highly recommend it

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bristraveller3870
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awesome Lattes”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Awesome latte and the garden is nice. I like to study my spanish there as it is quiet.

The lattes are so rich yet they are made with milk; delicious!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank A B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fernando's Kaffee also viewed

Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
 
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
 
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
 

Been to Fernando's Kaffee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing