We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Never stayed here becasue the reservation was not held”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Palacio Chico 1850
Ranked #51 of 82 Hotels in Antigua
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Never stayed here becasue the reservation was not held”
Reviewed February 28, 2011

"See, you know how to take the reservation, you just don't know how to 'hold' the reservation and that's really the most important part of the reservation, the holding. Anybody can just take them."
Seinfeld

I have lived in Guatemala for three years and have enjoyed many trips to different hotels, hostels and resorts during my time here. All have been pleasant or at least adventurous. In fact...I need to write reviews for all of my positive stays. This hotel made me sad. They hotel took my request for a room. I confirmed. Three days later I received an email saying they were sorry but they had given my room to a larger group. Interesting. I guess I expected something more then an excuse from them but in the end that is what I got. I was never offered a real apology just a "Sorry! You know it's high season!" Yep. I know. That is why I asked for the reservation. After I was upset, she said she would work on looking for something else for me. Nice I guess but it was a bit too little too late. I found another hotel in the meantime who has so far treated me wonderfully. Posada El Antaño.

Please think about staying in another one of Antigua's many beautiful boutique hotels. They appreciate your business and will go out of their way to make your stay comfortable. There are plenty of other options where you will be treated well. I can not imagine this hotel will be around much longer unless they beef up their expectations of their front desk employees and start treating their clients like people instead of a quick couple of dollars

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank APBERG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    26
    4
    3
    3
See reviews for
10
18
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2011

The friendly lady at the reception ensures that the guests are comfortable: from breakfast till organizing tours and farewell. The patio is a rustic place to relax and the rooms have a comfortable, romantic atmosphere.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DutchAdventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2010

The hotel is very inexpensive and our room was very clean. The courtyard was very beautiful and was perfect for coffee in the morning. The location is very good since it is close to the city center. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. It is perfect for a quick weekend trip, but I would not recommend for extended stays. There is nothing special about the rooms and all.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bwilliamr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantaCruzCA
Level Contributor
54 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2010

You will love ... so pretty. Beautiful courtyard and surrounding patios with wonderful wooden, Guatemalan benches, tables, and wall hangings ... full of lush plantings. Room 1 is a small two room suite (queen in main room :: two twins in second room) w/ great bathroom area raised a step above room ... window looks out to San Pedro Church. Room 6 is a small room w/ out an exterior window so is more quiet ... pretty room good for single or couple. Very nice, helpful and cheerful staff. Breakfast is good ... fresh fruit and they will make coffee for you at any time of day. This is not an over the top .. hotelesque type of place ...... understated, tasteful, charming, and authentically Guatemalan (although they did not use Guatemalan fabric for bedspreads). Fantastic Location.

  • Stayed December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank quicktrvlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Palacio Chico 1940
Hotel Palacio Chico 1940
#53 of 82 in Antigua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
0.4 mi away
D'Leyenda Hotel
D'Leyenda Hotel
#15 of 82 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
0.4 mi away
El Carmen Hotel
El Carmen Hotel
#37 of 82 in Antigua
3.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Casa Bella
Hotel Casa Bella
#43 of 82 in Antigua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
0.4 mi away
Euro Maya Hotel
Euro Maya Hotel
#49 of 82 in Antigua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel la Catedral
Hotel la Catedral
#14 of 82 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palacio Chico 1850? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palacio Chico 1850

Property: Hotel Palacio Chico 1850
Address: 3rd. Avenue South. Number 6, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 82 Hotels in Antigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Property of great historical and cultural value because it was made by the landowners of the time and it still retains many of the features of a house of the great estates of yesteryear of Antigua Guatemala. This home is surrounded by the main monuments and museums of the city where the hotel becomes part of a harmonious whole story at the time. It is located right in the city center, being just two blocks from Central Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Palacio Chico 1850 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing