We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best meat in town and wonderful service and atmosphere.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Restaurante Las Antorchas

Restaurante Las Antorchas
Ranked #21 of 344 Restaurants in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $20
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Latin, Guatemalan, Central American, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best meat in town and wonderful service and atmosphere.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2014

While visiting the town of Antigua 3weeks ago, Las Antorchas was the first restaurant I stopped at. Everything was excellent and the service extremely pleasant. I certainly didn't wanna focus on 1 place and went around town to find out if other restaurants could exceed my expectations and ended up coming back to Las Antorchas almost daily. This place is definitely a Go-to and strongly suggest to try out the Churrasco Antigueno: just killer!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Morgane8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    238
    54
    33
    4
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The best place to enjoy a meal in Antigua”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2014

My wife and I have been going to Antorchas over the past few months and have been amazed by the consistency of friendly top notch service. There is no place in town that can match the excellent service at Antorchas. The owner - Philippe - is hands down the best host. Everyone will bend over backwards to make absolutely sure that you are delighted by the experience. And now coming to the food, nobody cooks better steak than Antorchas. My top recommendation - arrachera with chitepe sauce. They will make it for you if you ask.....The rib-eye is tender with the slightly charred flavor from the open grill which I love so much. Aguacate salad, longaniza, arrachera followed by profiteroles and ron zacapa with the delightful company of philippe and his staff and you will leave with a deeply contented smile on your face. I guarantee it!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank shekhard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“the taste of Toulouse”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

Nice to meet a really friendly French compatriot in Antigua : Philippe Rambert from Toulouse - France ...
A nicely decorated and most sympathic restaurant in the heart of Antigua !
Too bad they stopped serving the famous cassoulet Toulousain ! but anyhow the food is excellent

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Denis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Bank, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“Best steak in Antigua”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014

If you stop, or stay over in Antigua, please make it a point to dine here. Everything from the food to the staff was fantastic.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NJRay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good all around”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014

The location is easy to get to from Central Park.

The food is good but not great. I have been to
Casa Escobar, Ni Fu Ni Fa and various bistros
where I enjoyed the meal better. The steaks are
good and cooked to my order. Not as tender as
others that I have tried.

Service is good and so are the prices.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Al R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toulouseantigua, Propietario at Restaurante Las Antorchas, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Google Translation
Hola, Hola , la critica justo antes de la tuya es Best Steak in Antigua , la tuya es worst steak en Antigua , al final en la vida hay gustos para todos , pero me di cuenta que siempre que subo en la clasificación en T.A me sale una critica mala , y esa comparandome directamente con la competencia y mencionandola me parece uyyyyyyyyyyyyy super sospechosa , pero no way yo no lo tengo envidia a nadie y hago lo mejor que pueda para ganarme la vida , y me hubiera gustada que me diga cara a cara que no le había gustado la comida , asi que que espero que me visitare de nuevo para criticarme pero al vivo rojo .........Saludos cordiales y que este feliz .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Las Antorchas also viewed

Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
 
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
 
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
 

Been to Restaurante Las Antorchas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing