We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best grill in town.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Restaurante Las Antorchas

Restaurante Las Antorchas
Ranked #21 of 344 Restaurants in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $20
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Latin, Guatemalan, Central American, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic, Business meetings, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
“Best grill in town.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014

I got the arrachera, and its the best meat grill experience ive had in Antigua. Good service, the owner was around, really cool guy.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Manolo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    238
    54
    33
    4
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
north america
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“a little 'pricey' but delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

this is a bit more expensive than other up-scale restaurants, but what that means to me is that instead of spending $25 on an outstanding meal for 2, i am spending $32.

service is great and they will try their english first on the gringos, but are pleased if they respond in spanish. we took one of our local antigua guatemalan friends there for lunch and she had never been there before, but hugely enjoyed her meal.

recommended.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank horace b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
110 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“What a class place and so reasonable!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2014

We celebrated Fathers Day here and the steaks were awesome. My favorite, the tenderloin with blue cheese was to die for. Service is top shelf and with big smiles. The décor is spacious and very pleasant, inside or out in the terrace. One reason this is one of our restaurants of choice is how the food is cooked. They use a parrilla which is wood burning open grill just like the BBQ back home. When in Guatemala and you want an old fashioned prime steak at an affordable price, this is the place.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank fairwayfrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toulouse, France
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“great service, good decor and fantastic food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2014

Early in the evening we were welcome by the buzzing fire, wonderful people - but that is standard here (:)) and then advised on good wine. You just have to go there and try their steak. THAT is something to write home about and we are a demanding crowd. A must go, simply.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kachia69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing steak, great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2014

This is a lovely restaurant in Antigua. The steaks were cooked to perfection, and the sides turned it into a remarkable meal. I also tried the chocolate mousse, to die for! The service was impeccable, and our waiter was right by our side every time we had question or needed a drink. The restaurant itself has a lot of charm, the open patio and flower-filled fountain sure give it a unique style. I strongly recommend giving this place a try, even if you are not a meat lover the menu has options for all.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Elisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Las Antorchas also viewed

Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
 
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
 
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
 

Been to Restaurante Las Antorchas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing