We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“the best hostel in antigua!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jungle Party Hostal Club & Restaurant

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Jungle Party Hostal Club & Restaurant
Ranked #25 of 100 Specialty Lodging in Antigua
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“the best hostel in antigua!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

stayed there for one week and i enjoed so much! great atmosphere, clean, good breakfast included and most of all- the kind stuff - always willing to help and always with a big smile.
thank u jeky, louis, sebastian and arleen. :)

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aviula22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    44
    28
    15
    28
See reviews for
1
22
78
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

Probably one of the best hostel experiences I've had. A huge lively hostel with options of smaller dorm rooms with 6 beds and a private bathroom, or a big 25 bed loft. A breakfast is included and options range from eggs, French toast, pancakes and granola. Hammocks, chairs and bean bags means that everyone congregates and hangs out in the lobby. Happy hour from 3-10 means everyone is drinking having fun almost all day. Owner is lovely and very helpful. Only blocks from Central Park.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Handog6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

Me and my friend stayed in a dorm that involved climbing over someone else's bed in order to get into your own. The breakfast was not 'free' since you had to pay a 10% service charge on it and the food wasn't good. The music is played too loud to have a conversation over it and since the rooms are right next to the communal area you have to listen to it until it goes off around 10pm, which was annoying since we had had a long day and just wanted to get some sleep.
I guess this should be expected since it has 'party' in the hostel name, but when there were people taking illegal drugs and listening to very loud dance music at 4pm on a Sunday we'd had enough.
Go here if you don't want to do anything in Antigua apart from drinking and partying, if you want to be able to sleep without being drunk, don't stay here.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alicedecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

I stayed at the Jungle Party a few times, for the equivalent of 15-20 nights altogether. I enjoy the hostel because it's really busy, there is always a lot of travelers and the vibe is fun and relax. Though, after all these week-ends spent at the Jungle, I realize how expensive the place is. For the regular dormitories it's 10$US a night, which is expensive for Guatemala. Plus, the food is a total rip-off. Even if the breakfast is include, it's very small (most mornings it was not fulling me up, I had to go buy something else) and the coffee is an additional 2$. A small vegetarian nacho (it's an appetizer with the price of a main course) is 5,50$US (45 quetzales), and has nothing to envy from the other restaurants around. If you can, eat outside.

Room Tip: Choose the small dormitories on the first floor. Some will want to save 2-3$ by taking the cheap dor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

We stayed a few nights at jungle party. I love the place, its in the center of antigua, just a few steps away from everything.

It was always clean. The beds are new and comfortable. They have big lockers (bring your own lock or get one en el mercado!) next to every bed. You can charge your electronic items in a safe place, even if you aren't next to it!

The breakfast wasn't that rich as i expected. It isn't the best breakfast you can get in antigua, but ok, it was included.

A girl of the staff can't count (i guess the one i mean doesn't work anymore there). She wanted to charge us more that we drank. Finally we had to talk to the boss and all was ok...

Great place and if i can i would gou back.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Danielamoser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
120 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013 via mobile

Checked in just before NYE, as Im a solo traveller and wanted a guaranteed fun & social holiday. The first two nights I stayed in the downstairs dorm and my last night I stayed in the miserable, hidden attic annex dorms.

I enjoyed my first two nights most-- the downstairs dorms ($2 more than the attic) are fairly nice- individual reading lights, bedside lockers. The plastic mattress covers, though understandable, are obnoxious.

PROS: Tasty included breakfast: in an expensive place like Antigua this was crucial--however I think I still would've preferred having a kitchen. Nightly fires were cozy and a great way to meet others. The place has a fun vibe. Most of the staff was friendly.

CONS: the tab system --which recruires you keep your actual passport with reception--don't like this practice--which allows you to rack up a bill easily. Drinks here are not cheap and very weak. Food is pretty expensive here as well. They charge for coffee and water refills.

The upstairs dorms--just do yourself a favor and spend an extra $2 and get the downstairs ones... Waking up New Years Day, with a slight hangover, having had little sleep was hellish here--the attic became bright and sauna-hot by 10 AM, the reception played loud & terrible techo music by 9 AM. I finally checked out and went to a nearby hostel to recover in comfort. They charge a fee for moving rooms too, which irritated me considering I was never informed there were cheaper dorms upon checking in...

I recommend staying somewhere comfortable, more quiet and cheaper nearby and spending evenings hanging out in the bar/around the campfire at Jungle Party.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lwjubeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2012

I have visited Antigua a few times and this hostel stands out as the best. A great mix of fun people and relaxed vibe in a convenient location. This is a great home base to experience Antigua and a great value with a delicious full breakfast included.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.3 mi away
Hostal Antigua
Hostal Antigua
#23 of 100 in Antigua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hostel Capitan Tom
Hostel Capitan Tom
#12 of 100 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hostal Antigueno
Hostal Antigueno
#11 of 100 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Three Monkeys Hostel
Three Monkeys Hostel
#2 of 100 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hostel Restaurante Casa Jacaranda
0.3 mi away
Cucuruchos Boutique Hostel
Cucuruchos Boutique Hostel
#4 of 100 in Antigua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jungle Party Hostal Club & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jungle Party Hostal Club & Restaurant

Property: Jungle Party Hostal Club & Restaurant
Address: 6a Avenida Norte # 20 | entre 3a y 2a Calle Poniente, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 100 Specialty Lodging in Antigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jungle Party is centrally located and extremely popular with young people.We do our best to provide travelers a cheap, clean and comfortable place to stay. You will simply be spoiled on your trip kicking back and relaxing in our new terrace Lounge and splash pool.. There is not a better view of Antigua's famous volcanoes in Antigua along with the best atmosphere in town!! We have a great terrace, a tanning pool, two sunny bars, nice gardens, bean bags, swings, swinging beds and hammocks all for your relaxing pleasure, so come and enjoy while drinking the most delicious smoothies and juices in town.In the morning breakfast is full of selections to choose from a buffet table!!!! Free unlimited Wi-Fi, free movies everyday on a 42' Plasma TV. On Saturday all you can eat BBQ with lots of free drinks, games, pinatas...And don't forget our Happy Hour Monday through Friday from 3-11p.M.!So whether you are just passing through or (or staying a while) taking classes, let us take care of you here at Jungle Party Hostel!If you are interested in booking airport pickup please contact us at our email address. There is a minimum 48 hour cancellation period for shuttles to pick you up at the airport. If you cancel after this time keep in mind that you will still be charged for your shuttle service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Jungle Party Hostal Club & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing