We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Oasis”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Meson del Valle
Ranked #27 of 82 Hotels in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Oasis”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

An idyllic small, clean and cute hotel. I enjoyed the garden and the roof terrace. The reseptionist didnt seem to speak much english, but then i got to practise my spanish (part of the travelling adventure!) Close to the senter, but quiet. Big breakfast ($5) with many choises (eggs, cereal, yoghurt, fruit). I enjoyed my stay here and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LovetSun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    63
    17
    7
    2
See reviews for
21
74
17
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed January 2, 2014

The most exceptional feature of this hotel is the service. The receptionist, Sandra, is eminently pleasant and has tremendous patience. I had some difficulties with my flight back to New York and bothered Sandra for about two full hours as I made telephone calls from the front desk, ordered/canceled/ordered a taxi to the airport, checked out late, etc. She never showed any signs of frustration and was accommodating until the bitter end. Aura, the breakfast cook and cleaner, was a sweetheart. She smiled always and took a genuine interest in my friends and me.

The HMdV is small, cozy, quiet, and close to everything. This is a great choice for the price.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Stayed here for one night. The room was acceptable although had a bit of a musty smell. The real issue was the lack of breakfast.Had asked what time breakfast was served from and was told 0700.
The next morning with an early bus to catch we got up for breakfast only to be told there was none as it wasn't ordered!! Humm pity the receptionist didn't bother to inform us about that. There's even a list of available breakfasts at the front counter with no mention to pre-book.
We noticed that when the staff went into the kitchen there were plenty of eggs and bananas available but there was absolutely no effort to help us out. Generally felt their attitude was pretty poor and they couldn't be bothered. We were even told the nearest cafe was in the main square when there was one less than a block away.
For the money it's not really worth it.
Must try harder 3/10

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mexicohicks1, Owner at Hotel Meson del Valle, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
We are glad to receive all reviews positive or negative. However what these guests said is not completely true. When these guests checked in they asked what time breakfast was served. The receptionist told them that breakfast was served at 7:00 and if would like breakfast they would have to order it the day before. However they did not order any.
At about 7:15 a.m. the next morning the guests asked again if the room included breakfast. The night guard let them know that breakfast was not included but if they wanted they could pay $5 extra for it. He let them know that if they would like breakfast they would have to wait for a few minutes seeing as there was nothing ready at the time. However they said they had to go out for a tour and they could not wait. They asked where they could buy coffee, and he replied that the nearest place was two blocks away. The hotel does offer free coffee but the night guard assumed that they did not want that coffee and preferred to go elsewhere.
We agree that the night guard should have offered the guest coffee at the hotel or told them about a café that was closer to the hotel. He also should have asked them when their shuttle lafe and offered them options that would not make them late. We have spoken to him and asked him to be more considerate and helpful to guests in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Front desk staff Sandra and Housekeeping Aura were both very helpful and amazing! They both made sure i had a great stay. Good location just a quick walk to the plaza. Tucked away from the busy area but comes with some tolerable noise from nearby bars especially on the weeknds. Overall a good hotel with great staff.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sherdan g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downey, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Wife and self stayed 2 nights at Meson del Valle Hotel, we got very nice and friendly service, Sandra was more than helpful, she showed us two different rooms and let us choose the one of our preference. We stayed upstairs room #10, we got a quiet, nice restful two nights, even Friday night... For the price, I think this hotel is one of the best options around... Just two blocks from the central plaza, they have fresh free coffee and tea 24 hrs.

Room Tip: Ask to stay in room # 10, simply the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ese_Cheyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

I booked this room as a three star and it was about that. The room was clean and comfortable. The bathroom was small but nice and clean. The wifi did not work on the room and that was a little annoying. They had coffee, tea and water on all day and that was a nice touch. The staff were very nice and helpful. The location was good and far enough away from the square to be peaceful and quiet. The room was hot and a fan would have been helpful. The shower was hot and powerful. The matrasses was not comfortable. Overall an average stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mexicohicks1, Owner at Hotel Meson del Valle, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
We appreciate all reviews, both positive and negative. If there is a complaint we do our best to fix the problem so that the hotel will be improved for future guests. In this case, we have added an extra router to the hotel so that the internet service will reach all of the rooms without any problem. We are also in the process of adding fans to all of the rooms, as only some of the rooms had fans before.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quepos, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

My husband and I traveled throughout Guatemala for 10 days, and Hotel Meson Del Valle was the last stop of our trip, and our splurge for 2 nights. Unfortunately, it was my least favorite of all of the 5 hotels we stayed in during our trip, and it was mainly due to rude service that we received during our stay. We are a young couple in our mid twenties. I am American and my husband is Costa Rican, we live in Costa Rica. When our driver dropped us off at the gate, in the rain, we waited about 10 minutes before someone emerged to open the gate for us. No, hi, how are you, welcome to Hotel Meson del Valle.. nothing! The girl walked to the desk, looked at a computer and asked our names, and then told us the room isn't ready, and went back to doing something on the computer. We knew that we were early for check-in, but we figured usually it's fine to leave bags in reception until the room is ready... so we asked, since she didn't say anything. She hesitated for a few minutes and agreed to let us leave the bags and told us the room would be ready at 3 for check-in. Fine by us, we came to Antigua to explore, not just stay in our hotel room anyways, so we left to go get some lunch and take in the sights. When we came back around 3:30, the room still wasn't ready, and she rudely said the reason was because the previous guests, had decided they wanted a late check out. I work in a hotel, and I know that if there is another guest waiting to check in, to the same room, you can't really offer a late check-out to someone. About an hour later, we were taken to our room, and handed the keys.She didn't mention anything to us about breakfast either.The service from this girl, blonde with glasses, was just so unbelievably rude and unfriendly! The maid came by to bring us soap and she was VERY nice, and she informed us the times that breakfast would be served the next day. The lady who makes the breakfast was very polite as well and the food was delicious! Also, the guy that worked reception on the night shift was nice as well and very helpful with any questions we had. It is a nice small hotel, and the room was large and nicely appointed. However, do to the lack of service we received, I would not go back. There are nicer places to stay in Antigua, and at a better rate.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kai R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mexicohicks1, Owner at Hotel Meson del Valle, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
We appreciate all reviews that we receive whether they are positive or negative.
Because Hotel Meson del Valle is a very small hotel there is only once receptionist in the hotel. The receptionist has other responsibilities and cannot be at the front desk at all times, but she is never gone for more than 5 minutes at a time. Standing outside it may have felt like 10 minutes but in truth it could not have been more than 5 minutes.
In regards to the late check-out made by the previous guests, when they had not checked out by one we asked them if they could check out of the room because the room was reserved for the next night. They said that they would be down to check-out in a few minutes but again they did not show. We asked them a second and a third time and once again they told us they would be right down. By the time they checked out it was past 2:00pm. The maid started cleaning the room immediately and she had it finished by 3:30pm.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Casa Antigua
Hotel Casa Antigua
#28 of 82 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
0.3 mi away
D'Leyenda Hotel
D'Leyenda Hotel
#15 of 82 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Meson de Maria
Hotel Meson de Maria
#2 of 82 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Candelaria Antigua Hotel
Candelaria Antigua Hotel
#23 of 82 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Casona de Antigua
La Casona de Antigua
#9 of 82 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
0.6 mi away
Casa Florencia Hotel
Casa Florencia Hotel
#30 of 82 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Meson del Valle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Meson del Valle

Property: Hotel Meson del Valle
Address: Avenida Sur #11C City center 5a | Sacatepequez, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 82 Hotels in Antigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Meson del Valle 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wonderful 4-star hotel in the colonial city of Antigua Guatemala, 2 blks from central park, on the famous Arch Street. We offer everything you need for a comfortable & enjoyable vacation. All 10 beautiful rooms are w/bath (some w/Jacuzzi tubs), cable TV, DVD, fast WI-FI & a guest internet computer to use free, breakfast offered, travel agency, travel services & a helpful bilingual staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Meson del Valle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing