We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely retreat - great location.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Meson del Valle

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Meson del Valle
Ranked #25 of 82 Hotels in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
Willemstad, Curacao
Level Contributor
72 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“lovely retreat - great location.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

A friend and I recently stayed at Meson del Valle and we really liked it! It was reasonably priced and included a home-cooked, deluxe breakfast. Denise at the front desk was fantastic - so friendly and helpful. The hotel was secure and the courtyard was inviting and relaxing. Our room was comfortable with a large bathroom. There is also a safe in the room. I liked the location of this hotel, within walking distance to everything, yet just outside of the busy streets surrounding the main square. We felt safe walking back here late at night. We passed the hotel several times, however - it is a little bit hard to spot. Antigua is great, it is beautiful. There are cool ruins, beautiful churches, good restaurants, fun shopping and nice drinking establishments as well. Dancing, too. Denise helped us set up transport to the airport in Guatemala City (about an hour by taxi, 1.5 hours by shuttle bus) and to Panajachel (Lake Atitlan) - getting around is easy to arrange the day before and cheap. Don't stress about this too far in advance, like I did. Just get there and set it up. The people in Guatemala were so friendly and Antigua was a great place to spend a few days. I hope to go back soon!

Room Tip: Room 6 - upstairs in the back was quiet, and had 2 beds. Also had a big tub and a shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelinDantheMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    60
    15
    6
    2
See reviews for
20
70
16
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
94 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights. The staff goes out of their way to held you in every way. Booking tours, taxis, whatever you need. Breakfast is amazing! Pancakes, fruit and a fully cooked meal served by a lovely lady.

I'm a solo female traveller and I felt very safe staying here.

The towels are very worn and need replacing, but otherwise the hotel is lovely.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cautiousglobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitefish, Montana
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

Some friends and I stayed at Hotel Meson del Valle around New Year's and while the hotel was beautiful, I do think it was worth what we paid. The staff was unfriendly and not welcoming, and the rooms were very small. But after reading others reviews perhaps the poor service we received was just poor luck on our part. Despite our experience with the staff, it does have a nice location and is peaceful and quiet.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

We were in Antigua Guatemala and just as we were walking by looking for a hotel Meson del Valle in Miss reception we attended a very friendly and everything we asked we answered with a smile, stayed for 1 night and the hotel has a beautiful garden and the rooms are very clean, all the time we had available coffee, tea and purified water, Silveria and Aura are very friendly and always able to help.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenna A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guatemala City, Guatemala, Guatemala
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

This hotel is a great weenkend escape in La Antigua, friendly staff and a good breakfast, well located. A good place to stay and relax since it is very quiet with a nice garden. If you stay there ask for the rooms with jacuzzis.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lourdes P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

This is a small very well run hotel close to the main tourist sites. The staff is friendly, helpful and efficient and the rooms and common areas are spotlessly clean. Our room was not large but more than enough for our purposes. Coffee and purified water are available all day and the WiFi was strong both in the outside areas and in the room. There was Cable TV and a DVD player. The bath room was tight but clean and had hot water all day long. It is a good value.

Room Tip: Room 3 which we had gets a certain amount of noise from the stairs. It is not bad but if you are a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

The hotel is nice for the price range. We originally stayed in a room without the jacuzzi bathtub, but the room was quite small. We ended up upgraded for $10 to the room with the jacuzzi bathtub for the space.

The hotel is well located and the staff is pleasant. It is helpful if you speak Spanish. The rooms are nice and simple.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Journey2life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Casa Antigua
Hotel Casa Antigua
#24 of 82 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
0.3 mi away
D'Leyenda Hotel
D'Leyenda Hotel
#16 of 82 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Casona de Antigua
La Casona de Antigua
#10 of 82 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Candelaria Antigua Hotel
Candelaria Antigua Hotel
#22 of 82 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
0.1 mi away
San Jorge Hotel
San Jorge Hotel
#37 of 82 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Los Pasos
Hotel Los Pasos
#11 of 82 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Meson del Valle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Meson del Valle

Property: Hotel Meson del Valle
Address: Avenida Sur #11C City center 5a | Sacatepequez, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 82 Hotels in Antigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Meson del Valle 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wonderful 4-star hotel in the colonial city of Antigua Guatemala, 2 blks from central park, on the famous Arch Street. We offer everything you need for a comfortable & enjoyable vacation. All 10 beautiful rooms are w/bath (some w/Jacuzzi tubs), cable TV, DVD, fast WI-FI & a guest internet computer to use free, breakfast offered, travel agency, travel services & a helpful bilingual staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Meson del Valle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing