We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute, affordable hotel with great service.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Meson del Valle
Ranked #25 of 75 Hotels in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 30, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at Meson del Valle for three nights and we enjoyed every minute of our stay. The staff was extremely helpful. They answered any questions we had about tours and attractions throughout Antigua and set up our shuttle to the airport without any problems. We also had an amazing (and huge!) breakfast every morning.

The location is quite ideal. This was our first time in Antigua so we weren't completely sure if we were staying in an accessible part of town. We were in luck with Meson del Valle as it's located on 5a Avenida Sur, one of the busier streets with plenty of shops and restaurants. It's also just a few blocks from the central park and a block away from the pick up spot for a few tours and attractions around the town.

There were only two drawbacks on this location: The walls are quite thin and you can hear just about everything and there were a couple times when we were without water. Thin walls are something we could easily get over, but no water became an issue. However, we just told the staff and they turned on a reserve. No big deal! However, it did give us a reality check. Although Antigua is beautiful and bustling with tourists, it's important to remember that Guatemala is still a very poor country and it made us realize there's a lot more beyond the polished look of Antigua.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ej816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (193)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Meson del Valle
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

127 - 133 of 193 reviews

Reviewed October 1, 2012

I am always looking for new places to stay in antigua so I decided to try out this hotel. Its little and cozy! The room is pretty big and had a jacuzzi(quite cool). Breakfast was huge and yummy! Staff vas very charming!
The only thing was that the room is kind of hot so we left the windows open and in the moring heard other guests walking by :(
I would go back!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andreina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

this place is a very cute little hotel in Antigua, right next to the main square. It has nice clean rooms and a beautiful little garden. The sister hotel has a pool that you can use for a few dollars. Also be sure to order the breakfast, which will fill you up for the whole day!

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Mark N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2012

My friend and I stayed in Hotel Meson del Valle for a couple of nights. The little boutique hotel was very pretty and the rooms basic and clean. Location was perfect. Only a few blocks down from the main square. The rooms were also very affordable, the cheapest of all the hotels (US$50 a night) my friend and i stayed during our trip but with the nicest rooms.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank a k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2012

This place is in a perfect location. It's a quiet street, yet only 3 blocks from central park. Our room had a jettub, shower, and was very clean. The garden has many beautiful plants and flowers. Perfect for taking pictures of typical Antigua gardens. Breakfast was included and we were asked what time we wanted to eat which for us it was perfect to have that option. The breakfast was delicious and we had it outside by the garden. We were served good portions and everything tasted fresh and well cooked. Our compliments to the cook. Additionally, Claudia the front desk attendant was so helpful and kind and offered so much information about Antigua that she deserves a star for service. I certainly recommned this hotel and will certainly go back when I visit Guatemala again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jorge Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2012

I came to Antigua Guatemala to find an apartment while i study spanish. A friend made reservations at a hotel by the name of Meson de Valle. It is a boutique hotel located on the famous "Arch Street" which is 5th avenue. The hotel is located within walking distance to many restaurants, night life and points of historical note. The staff is very friendly and courteous and they went above and beyond to make my stay as comfortable as possible. I have stayed at hotels in Antigua Guatemala before and normally the only hot water is in the shower and that is tepid at best. But at this hotel they have hot water in the sink and in the shower. When i say hot i mean HOT and the pressure is great, which is uncommon in Guatemala. Coffee and hot water were available at all hours of the day and night. The room was very clean and the mattress on the bed was like "Heaven" So if you are traveling through Antigua Guatemala and need an OASIS, visit Meson de Valle. Also when i travel i look for places with in room internet and they have that at this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GuateThom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2012

We celebrated our engagement in the hotel. The hotel is very cosy and private, makes you feel like home. Had a delicious breakfast by the garden and sat outside with the laptop to relax.
It's a great choice for couple's getaways.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank traveler13413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Casa Antigua
Hotel Casa Antigua
#30 of 75 in Antigua
423 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Meson de Maria
Hotel Meson de Maria
#7 of 75 in Antigua
319 reviews
0.3 mi away
D'Leyenda Hotel
D'Leyenda Hotel
#21 of 75 in Antigua
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Casa del Parque
Hotel Casa del Parque
#36 of 75 in Antigua
223 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel EuroMaya Suites
Hotel EuroMaya Suites
#41 of 75 in Antigua
140 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Casa Rustica
Hotel Casa Rustica
#45 of 75 in Antigua
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Meson del Valle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Meson del Valle

Address: Avenida Sur #11C City center 5a | Sacatepequez, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 75 Hotels in Antigua
Price Range: $49 - $102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Meson del Valle 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wonderful 4-star hotel in the colonial city of Antigua Guatemala, 2 blks from central park, on the famous Arch Street. We offer everything you need for a comfortable & enjoyable vacation. All 10 beautiful rooms are w/bath (some w/Jacuzzi tubs), cable TV, DVD, fast WI-FI & a guest internet computer to use free, breakfast offered, travel agency, travel services & a helpful bilingual staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Meson del Valle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing