We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic hotel with good location and great service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Meson del Valle
Ranked #25 of 75 Hotels in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 13, 2011

This is a very small hotel with a cute garden and a very good location to be able to walk around Antigua. It is only three blocks away from the park in the center of town.
The rooms are basic and clean, but really dark and humid. Our room had a very strong smell of humidity. They gave us a dehumidifier to make it better.
The place is run by a few young women who were very helpful and eager to please us with breakfast and other arrangements.
I'm not sure about the value because we didn't look at any other hotels, but I wouldn't have paid any more than we did ($80/night for 2 people, breakfast included) for this place.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RAG19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mexicohicks1, Owner at Hotel Meson del Valle, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2011

We appreciate any reviews, but would perfer fair reviews. This couple was correct on us being a small hotel with "helpful and eager to please service". However, when they call (a large suite room with queen size bed, separate sitting area, flat screen TV & a bathroom with a 2 person corner jacuzzi tub and separate shower), a basic room, they could not be further from the truth. For a normal or basic room in Antigua Guatemala, you get a single or double bed, no TV, no sitting area, and sometimes shared bath. We, at Hotel Meson del Valle, offer excellent value for the way above average room types & service. During the rainy season, most of Antigua is very humid, including hotel rooms, and this guest's stay was right at the end of the rainy season. I feel we did a good job of accomodating them by giving them a dehumidifier. Most hotels would not even have this, but we try to give a better service than most. I am sorry this guest did not feel great about our hotel, but I hope they maybe return to Antigua during the dry season.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (193)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Meson del Valle
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

136 - 142 of 193 reviews

Reviewed July 4, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank danilobalcarcel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed June 4, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2017, traveled with family
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2017, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Gabriela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2017
Thank chinoja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: La habitación que esté en la planta superior
  • Stayed: January 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Silviamoien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Casa Antigua
Hotel Casa Antigua
#30 of 75 in Antigua
423 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Meson de Maria
Hotel Meson de Maria
#6 of 75 in Antigua
319 reviews
0.3 mi away
D'Leyenda Hotel
D'Leyenda Hotel
#21 of 75 in Antigua
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Casa del Parque
Hotel Casa del Parque
#36 of 75 in Antigua
223 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel EuroMaya Suites
Hotel EuroMaya Suites
#40 of 75 in Antigua
140 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Casa Rustica
Hotel Casa Rustica
#44 of 75 in Antigua
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Meson del Valle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Meson del Valle

Address: Avenida Sur #11C City center 5a | Sacatepequez, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Location: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 75 Hotels in Antigua
Price Range: $49 - $102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Meson del Valle 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wonderful 4-star hotel in the colonial city of Antigua Guatemala, 2 blks from central park, on the famous Arch Street. We offer everything you need for a comfortable & enjoyable vacation. All 10 beautiful rooms are w/bath (some w/Jacuzzi tubs), cable TV, DVD, fast WI-FI & a guest internet computer to use free, breakfast offered, travel agency, travel services & a helpful bilingual staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and Orbitz so you can book your Hotel Meson del Valle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing