We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful setting in Antigua”

Restaurante Casa Santo Domingo
Ranked #5 of 391 Restaurants in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Guatemalan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed February 10, 2014

This place is a bit on the pricey side ($$$) but the food is very good and the service is excellent. It is set in the midst of the old monastery and just oozes history. If you are looking for a special evening, give this a try. I had excellent steak and my friend had a Thai specialty.

Thank Schleuder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IrisGomez, Gerente at Restaurante Casa Santo Domingo, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2014

Thank you for your comment. We are please to know you enjoyed your evening at El Refectorio.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (624)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

243 - 247 of 624 reviews

Reviewed February 3, 2014

We would have ordered cocktails if we could have! The menus were pushed at us and orders demanded as we sat down! Maybe because we were eating early (7:30pm) and they hoped to get another seating in. We had to ask them to slow it down and we ordered wine. The wine list was very expensive for Antigua. The food was good, though the menu doesn't change from year to year.

Thank Lindaw143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IrisGomez, Gerente at Restaurante Casa Santo Domingo, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2014

We are sorry to know that you didn't enjoy your dining experience at El Refectorio and hope you give us another opportunity to serve you. Our Chef changes the menu every year and works hard to improve it. We hope you return soon and try the new dishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014

Ate there on Wednesday, Jan 22. Took the tour guide for lunch after seeing your time. He chose that we eat Pepion. The horribly over-priced dish tasted funny. Service was good. On the way back to the hotel, my stomach started to gurgle. Later that evening, I vomited numerous times as well as had dystentery. Do not recommend.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IrisGomez, Gerente at Restaurante Casa Santo Domingo, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2014

We are sorry to know that you got sick after having lunch during your visit to La Antigua and just wanted to let you know that we don't serve "pepián" in our Restaurant. We suggest you contact the guide who accompanied you so he can give you more info. regarding the places visited.
If we can be of further assistance, pls don´t hesitate to contact us at: igomez@casasantodomingo.com.gt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Stroll trough the corridors of this colonial era building with this restaurant set up beautifully with fountains and gardens, had a great time with my family, felt safe and well served in this place, not cheap but very affordable and worth the visit

1  Thank lportil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IrisGomez, Gerente at Restaurante Casa Santo Domingo, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2013

Thank you very much for such a nice comment. We are pleased to know you enjoyed your experience at El Refectorio. We hope you return soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

we are a family of 4 loved our meals here the price was very reasonable. The service was excellent. Try the pumpkin ravioli it was fantastic.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank bob P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IrisGomez, Gerente at Restaurante Casa Santo Domingo, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2013

We appreciate very much your very nice comment and are pleased to know you enjoyed our food at El Refectorio. We hope you come back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Casa Santo Domingo also viewed

Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
 
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
 

Been to Restaurante Casa Santo Domingo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing