We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to eat in Antigua”
Review of Las Palmas

Las Palmas
Ranked #51 of 360 Restaurants in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: Latin, International, Spanish, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups, Bar scene, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Late Night, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Las Palmas is one of the best decorated restaurant in Antigua with exquisite food prepared by an experienced chef. The beef is top quality imported. The pastas are totally prepared in the restaurant by our chef with 15 years experince in Italian food. Our staff is highly trained and friendly. We want to make you feel at home!
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place to eat in Antigua”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

My mission group eats here each trip. The food and service is great. The chocolate cake is nice treat :)

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stephaniewithaph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    86
    16
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good music, Good food, very romantic!”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We stumbled into Las Palmas on our last night in Antigua and thought it a fitting end to a wonderful vacation in Guatemala. They have live music almost every night, and the night we wandered in (on Thursday) the live Flamenco/Soft Rock fusion that was playing was incredible! The setting itself is very romatic- dim, candlelight rooms, and the food was pretty good. The prices were affordable, fairly mid-range as far as restaurants in Antigua go, and everyone enjoyed their experience.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Margueta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Harbor, Utila, The Bay Islands
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pleasant,Affordable, Good Food & Live Music”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

We usually dodge the street people handing out flyers for this or that place, but since Las Palmas was just a few doors down from our hotel we took the flyer. Glad we did. We looked for it, walked by and was told that they were not yet open for dinner by the doorman. He showed us the menu, offered us a free drink card (what a nice surprise!) and told us that there was live music in from New Orleans that evening. Can't go wrong there! We returned and had a wonderfully romantic dinner in a booth facing, but not too near the stage. Service was excellent and the waiters were knowledgeable of the menu and of complimenting wines for each entree. My mouthwatering filet mignon was accompanied by a hearty Bordeaux while a Sauvignon Blanc from Chile set off my wife's seafood platter perfectly.

The music was wonderful, with a keyboard player and a bona fide lounge singer belting out torch songs that kept your attention without being overly loud.

Recognizing our attention to the entertainers, the owner came over, introduced himself, and set us up with a after dinner cocktails on the house.

In our opinion, this is one of the best run establishments in Antigua. It is professional, personable, very presentable, a good value, and the staff actually treats you like they are pleased to have your business.

We will return here, and we will bring guests with us when we do.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank IntrepidTravelers2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“A Beautiful Restaurant for Dinner by Candlelight”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

This restaurant is particlarly pretty at night. The courtyard is transfomed by hundreds of tiny lights which make all the glassware and cutlery on the tables twinkle.

The food is very good and so is the service. There is often live music in the evenings.

We love Antigua and have been visiting the town for over 25 years. With all the places you could eat at, it's hard to decide. Las Palmas is certainly the best choice for a lovely dining spot in the centre of town at a reasonable price!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HelloKittyTravelPro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fun, fun and fun”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

The athmosphere is very energetic with good service, food and great entertainement. People are nice and good looking. The live musicians are talented.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 832brians832
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Las Palmas also viewed

Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
 
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
 

Been to Las Palmas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing