We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice meal and nice surroundings”
Review of Las Palmas

Las Palmas
Ranked #49 of 365 Restaurants in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Las Palmas is one of the best decorated restaurant in Antigua with exquisite food prepared by an experienced chef. The beef is top quality imported. The pastas are totally prepared in the restaurant by our chef with 15 years experince in Italian food. Our staff is highly trained and friendly. We want to make you feel at home!
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice meal and nice surroundings”
Reviewed December 4, 2012 via mobile

Went here tonight after reading a review about the band that plays on a Monday and Tuesday night. We both ordered a beef dish. Mine was the mignon- which was very nice and the sauce that accompanied it was nice, my friends was a speciality of the day- very tender and tasty beef dish- was served with blue cheese sauce- thankfully we got it served on the side as it wasn't that nice. We ordered both our dishes medium, when they came out they were a little more on the rare side, so we asked them to cook them a little more, which was no problem and they were very helpful with this. The wine list was good- a lot more expensive than the beer list. The atmosphere and service was nice. The band came on at 8 o clock. They were good and very entertaining. Great night overall. Would recommend this restaurant. A little bit expensive if on a budget however.

Helpful?
Thank Ailish G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    86
    16
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glen Rock PA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Better than I remembered!”
Reviewed October 27, 2012

This is one of the nicest restaurants in Antigua. Tucked one street west and one street south of the Central Plaza, it is well worth the walk. My favorite is the tilapia with both the lime and cilantro and the garlic, rice, lovely vegetables and a small salad that has the perfect vinegar dressing on it. I was here 8 years ago for several months and ate here frequently. Sometimes when you go back you realize the memory was better than the reality...not so here! My husband had the special steak tenderloin with Roquefort sauce--he loved it. Thanks you for the fabulous meal!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AnniMcL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cabo San Lucas, Baja California Sur, Mexico
Level Contributor
32 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent live music on Monday & Tuesday and great food!”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We lucked out by popping into Las Palmas for a drink on a Monday night. It turns out that they have a traditional Andean music band that plays live both Monday and Tuesday. They are a phenomenal group... One of the guys plays five different instruments.... In one song, he played four and even sang!

The decor is great.... Typical Guatemalan that includes great local, traditional art. They had my husband's and my favorite Guatemalan drink, the Indita Quetalteca Rosa de Jamiaca, which was great. The food was delicious and they offer a lot of traditional plates, which we liked a lot.

I understand that the music is great other nights as well, but if you can get to Las Palmas on a Monday Or Tuesday you won't regret it!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AlexandraKDG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Solid but nothing special”
Reviewed August 22, 2012

This spot has a good varied menu and reliable if not spectacular food. We went with a big group and they were very accommodating.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank MrsKNj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elberta, Alabama
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Food and Music”
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Friday night is the night to go for Salsa music and dancing. The crowd moves elsewhere on Saturday. If you do go, get there by 9:45 because seating is limited and the dance floor small, but it is fun! The crowd starts showing up aroune 10:00. The restaurant has delicious food, I had the fish that was crusted and it was mild and absolutely delicious.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Las Palmas also viewed

Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
 
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
 

Been to Las Palmas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing