We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Posada Dona Luisa
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
Reviews (120)
Filter reviews
120 results
Traveler rating
47
43
18
7
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
47
43
18
7
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot wateroutdoor eating areagreat central locationbeds were comfortablefew minutes walkmain plazawifimarketparquesheets
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
48 - 53 of 120 reviews
Reviewed April 17, 2012

My wife and I enjoyed our stay during Semana Santa. The rooms cost a little more than we expected, but this was probably due to the holidays. Staff very helpful and friendly. Older but very clean. This hotel has a very nice area downstairs with tables in a shaded, plant filled, courtyard. It also has a small kitchen for guests to use which contains a pila, refrigerator, stove, microwave, toaster oven and kitchen utensils/plates/silverware, etc. This is useful if you don't want to eat out all the time. Beds tend to be firm, which is what we like. Rooms have two or three beds. A basic budget hotel which grows on you. We would definitely stay there again. We are experienced travelers and have lived over six years in Costa Rica, Guatemala, and Puerto Rico, and traveled in Mexico, all of Central America,Bolivia, Brazil and Cuba.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gary O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2012

We stayed in many hotels during our 2 month trip, and this place was one of the bottom 3. Lot of noise during the night from the bar next door, so be aware, especially in the weekend. The staff did their best and were friendly, but limited info was available. Rooms were ok, a bit outdated, but I guess it was fair for the rate we were paying. I would not recomment this place, unless better options are fully booked.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NielsenShira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2012

Basic but clean hotel. Staff very helpful. Very close to the square. Avoid Saturday nights. There is a locals night club 200 ft away that plays music until 1-2 am. Bring earplugs on sat night stays. Not sure about Fridays. All other days are no problem...great place to stay.

Room Tip: I think they only have 8 rooms. Many are triple single beds.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adamage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2012

As others have written, Orfa is wonderful. She pre-arranged for my airport pick up (37US) and it went very smoothly. She will make calls for you or find you the information on something if needed. Consuela is the cleaning person-she is sweet and does and excellent job. My room was number one-nearest the front desk as I was traveling alone. A little noisy but no problem sleeping. Byron and Fransico are the night guys-also friendly and always smiling. There is a great supermarket just around the corner-the outdoor kitchen may be used-it has everything you would need. A good sized fridge is there to store bottled waters or soda. Parque Centro is only 2 blocks away, the artisans market one block the other direction. While a small hotel the staff makes this hotel. They seem to really enjoy what they do and like keeping the people there happy. The room was cool at night for sleeping. The bath was small but had everything needed. The entire hotel was extremely clean. I was very pleased with my choice -my second visit to GT and Antigua. Cynthia Meyers

Room Tip: great views from second floor
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 60CynthiaM60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2012

Posada Dona Luisa was the first hotel we stayed in at the beginning of our trip to Guatemala. It was charming, quaint, pretty and had a great location. Orfa, the hotel manager, was so helpful and she spoke great English! :) It was just two blocks to the main plaza and along the way we had access to Internet stores, coffee shops, and wonderful restaurants. Orfa gave us great recommendations for places to eat and things to see and do. She also helped us make many of our shuttle reservations to various locations. The rooms are not fancy, but they were clean and cute. Our only concern was that is was a little noisy in the evenings and early morning, but that was probably due to the tile floors throughout the place. Some rugs or runners might help with that issue. Overall, it was really nice and we would stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews