We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel Dona Luisa was comfortable but not great”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Posada Dona Luisa
Ranked #52 of 82 Hotels in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
Isla Mujeres, Mexico
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Hotel Dona Luisa was comfortable but not great”
Reviewed January 25, 2012

We spent two nights at the Hotel Posada Dona Luisa and found it acceptable, but not great. The rooms were large and clean. We stayed on the second floor, which was reached by a circular stairway. Not handicapped accessible. The staff spoke a little English, but not much. The location is great, just a block and a half from the central park. It was quiet at night and we felt very safe.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FirstMate2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    40
    17
    6
    5
See reviews for
23
31
21
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Port Orchard, Washington
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2012

We chose Posada Doña Luisa from looking over Trip Advisor reviews. This was a good choice for us. Our vacation started by arriving late on the 23rd before Christmas. We had a beautiful room overlooking the courtyard on the ground floor. The staff kept the hotel spotless, and were always very welcoming towards us. The location was in the heart of everything, and yet pleasantly quiet...until midnight on Christmas Eve. At the stroke of midnight the town erupted in fireworks. We enjoyed the show from the second floor balcony where we could hear plenty, and enjoy fireworks over the ruins next door. This was the perfect mid priced hotel for us.

Room Tip: Any of the 8 rooms would be perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chuck P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii, United States
1 review
Reviewed December 29, 2011

I stayed Hotel Posada Dona Luisa for my business trip in 2011 December. This was my first trip to Antigua and my coworkers recommended to stay there. It was really nice and I was really happy to stay! Hotel is small but once you enter the door, the inside has open space for tables and chairs, lots of plants, and sunny atmosphere. The hotel staffs maintain everything very clean, your rooms, kitchen, etc. (and I was really surprised that, one of lady who is in charge cleaning, she worked like non-stop. she works hard but very friendly)
And, the good part of staying in Hotel Pasada Dona Luisa is the hotel stuffs are very friendly and helpful! I don't speak much Spanish but they showed that they were trying to understand my body languages, poor spanish and drawings. I will definitely come back to stay for my next Antigua trip! Aloha

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryo K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California 2 San Miguel
1 review
Reviewed November 30, 2011

I had the pleasure to stay for two weeks in this lovely and warm hotel. Doña Luisa is centrally located (only 2 blocks from the Central Park), close to great restaurants, shopping and best of all, for me: only a few blocks from the Spanish School I attended.

I am always greeted by name, and treated so well, you would think my mom worked here. There are only 8 rooms, and a common kitchen: which makes staying a longer time in Antigua more comfy and affordable. I wanted a little more than a hostel: cleaner, no shared rooms or baths, and be very comfortable to "live" here for two weeks.

Room Tip: The upper floors have beautiful views of the Agua volcano and top of the church ruins on the corner...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GueritaMo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2011

I stayed here for a week and I'm so glad I chose this hotel! I was looking for somewhere quiet and relaxed! I found it. The views are simply breathtaking, a backdrop of Volcan Agua with an old church in front. Everyone here at this hotel is so nice aswell, making your time here even more special! Orfa, who runs reception is simply willing to do anything to make your stay pleasurable, and Dona Aura is always making sure the place look spotless! Even the night guard holds you up for a friendly chat! A kitchen makes it super economical to stay more than a few days. The hotel is about 2 blocks from the park. Thanks everybody for making my time in Antigua so nice!

Room Tip: The rooms upstairs have really nice views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank becn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2011

We stayed here based on the reviews we read in Trip Advisor & are glad we did. The driver was at the airport in Guatemala City waiting for us when we arrived at 10:30 pm, & was very courteous. The beds were comfortable. The entire place was immaculate thanks to the hardworking & ever cheerful housekeeper who greeted us each
Morning with "buenos dias". We felt very safe, & as others have said, the location could not have been more convenient. A swimming pool is available for patrons use at nearby hotel for a fee of $5 per person. Our only problems? 1-We had trouble getting hot water from the shower, & the staff responded immediately when we brought it to their attention. The water was then tolerably warm, though not hot. 2- If you're staying on a Saturday night, bring earplugs. The bar next door had live music that played till midnight-with the earplugs we were able to sleep thru it.
Another plus, especially for the budget-conscious, a small kitchen is available just off the courtyard--it has a stove, a microwave, and refrigerator. I would happily return to this hotel in the future!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cranefeather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Dalles, Oregon
Level Contributor
327 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 249 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2011

We had breakfast at Doña Luisa our last morning in Antigua and it was the perfect choice. They draw you in with the wonderful smells emanating from the onsite bakery, plus the courtyard setting is classic and lovely. The breakfast we chose was french toast made with cinnamon bread served with syrup and/or honey; we added some of their delicious house made yogurt. The prices were reasonable and we bought a loaf of their delicious wheat bread on the way out the door. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank hopefulist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa Rustica
Hotel Casa Rustica
#46 of 82 in Antigua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Las Camelias Inn
Hotel Las Camelias Inn
#44 of 82 in Antigua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
14.6 mi away
Posada Don Valentino
Posada Don Valentino
#61 of 82 in Antigua
3.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa Antigua
Hotel Casa Antigua
#28 of 82 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
0.4 mi away
San Jorge Hotel
San Jorge Hotel
#40 of 82 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Sin Ventura
Hotel La Sin Ventura
#41 of 82 in Antigua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Posada Dona Luisa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Posada Dona Luisa

Property: Hotel Posada Dona Luisa
Address: 7a Ave Norte No. 4, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 82 Hotels in Antigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Posada Dona Luisa 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Posada Dona Luisa is a beautiful small budget hotel in the heart, of colonial Antigua Guatemala. We offer everything that you could need during your stay in Antigua, fast Wi-Fi, cable TV, travel services, maps & tourist info. Our goal is to make your stay as comfortable as possible, while staying within your budget. Our great location, only 2 blocks from the central park, allows you to be close to everything, but it is far enough away to give you a very peaceful rest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Posada Dona Luisa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing