We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful New Hotel in Great Location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Convento Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
El Convento Boutique Hotel
Ranked #4 of 82 Hotels in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
183 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Beautiful New Hotel in Great Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2010

We spent 3 wonderful nights in Antigua at this hotel. At only 2 years old, everything is still relatively new and fresh and well maintained. The hotel has all the amenities of western hotels including wired internet, cable TV, room safe and A/C, which seems rare in Antigua. The hotel is located on a quiet street a few blocks from the Plaza Mayor.

We booked the Don Alvarado Suite which is essentially 2 large bedrooms on top of each other with large bathrooms and a wonderful smallish private patio with hot tub and fountain. If you have trouble with stairs, don't book this room if you'll have the upper bedroom because they are connected by a narrow circular staircase. The bed was very comfortable and there were 2 chaise lounges for relaxing or watching TV. It was too warm to use the fireplace but it looked very inviting. The bathrooms were also large, if a little dark, with 2 vessel sinks, a large tub/shower, towel warmer and a separate walk in shower. Music can be piped into the bathroom and patio if you like.

While new, the hotel is designed in the traditional style with all the rooms surrounding the courtyard areas. One nice touch were the hand carved room doors-each different and relating to the suite name. The grounds are beautiful and perfectly maintained. There are fountains, lots of landscaping and a small pool along with a roof terrace which was being renovated when we were there so we couldn't enjoy it (again accessed by a small circular staircase). They owner has purchased the property next door and will be adding additonal rooms and suites in the near future. Hopefully the construction noise won't affect the quiet solitude of the grounds.

We checked out a couple of other rooms and all seemed very nice.

We did not eat in the restaurant, but did have room service one evening and the food was fine. The bar is tiny but the special house mojito is wonderful!

The staff was very accomodating and helpful and spoke English. I can't imagine a better stay at any of the other upper end hotels in Antigua.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ramonjamon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    411
    98
    29
    9
    8
See reviews for
108
280
22
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami Beach
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2010

Gorgeous boutique hotel. Friendly helpful staff. Very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lil_boh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
118 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2010

While the fixtures are very nice (actually a little over the top), the human aspect could do with a lot of improvement.

At first glance the bathroom was very nice, but upon closer inspection it was not exactly spotless with streaks on the floor along with the hairs of a prior occupant.

The courtyard design means there were no windows in the room thus no view, the only source of natural lighting being provided by sky lights.

Service in the restaurant was exceedingly slow during lunch and dinner. Breakfast was very good and consistently served in a timely manner.

Luckily the hotel did not seem to be full, but with what few guests there were it seems like soundproofing is insufficient.

I enjoyed my visit to Antigua, but would definitely consider other options next time around.

  • Stayed March 2010
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Livetowander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Level Contributor
71 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2010

We could not expect any more from a hotel. The service is beyond excellent, the people are extremely pleasant and helpful, and the tips we received from the front desk all proved themselves. The meals are superb, and don't get me started on the amazing rooms, with all the luxurious facilities.
Great location, with no noise, and the hotel itself is not to crowded or touristic, as some other hotels in Antigua proved to be.
No questions - this is the hotel to be in Antigua!!!!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank adereth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Ga
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2010

This hotel is a reason to keep coming back to Antigua. When you stay at the hotel you are awestruck by the gracious beauty of the hotel and rooms and the meticulous attention to detail. It seems that the hotel developer has tried to make every part of the room and the individual patios off the rooms perfect, and they have largely succeeded. Take a look at the pictures - they say it better than I ever could. We are planning a return trip in a few months, in large part because of how much we loved the hotel!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wandawhirlwind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2010

This trip was taken to celebrate my 50th birthday, and what a birthday! The hotel was gorgeous. This building was recently refurbished to "look" very old, and the detail that they took was great. We could have spent the whole trip at the hotel and in the room. The shower walls were made out of big rocks. We enjoyed breakfast every morning on the rooftop over looking the volcanoes. We were guided by the front desk staff on day trips that were fabulous. Our Spanish is minimal, but that was not a problem here. The hotel manager went above and beyond to make our stay memorable. We ate only once in the dining room, but should have eaten there more often. The hotel is convenient to walk to everything too. We took a walking tour with an English speaking guide that was well worth it too. Do that first so that you can get acclamated with the town. Ask for a map at the front desk too. Will definitely return. We were told that we had to stay at the Santiago Convent, but after going there to look around, and seeing their rooms, we were so happy that we stayed where we did. Cannot think of one thing that we didn't like about this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FloridaFritz20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wimborne Minster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
203 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2010

We stayed for two nights in El Convento as part of our three week tour of Belize, Guatemala and Costa Rica. Although El Convento was a beautiful hotel, we unfortunately experienced an very poor level of customer service. We were told during our visit that a new manager had recently been brought in to try and overcome some of the customer complaints. Lets hope he is successful as the property is wonderful and a great location in Antigua. The problems we experienced were fairly minor but not the level of service we expected. When we checked in we were given a card to request tea / coffee to be delivered to our room in the morning, we completed the card (thinking that it was a really nice touch) but unfortunately they forgot to deliver. When we went to breakfast the staff decided that they couldnt understand English so when we tried to order our American breakfast (as booked) we were only given eggs - nothing else. We could then hear the staff laughing and chatting whilst they served us just eggs. The same attitude happened when we ordered drinks at the bar in the evening. The staff were more interested in chatting to each other rather than serving us - the only two people in the bar. We also tried to get served on the terrace bar but again we could not find a member of staff to help. As I said these are not major points, but for a fairly expensive hotel they need to try harder if they what to keep their international customers. You may have better luck if you can speak Spanish - you may be made to feel more welcome. Shame as the building deserves better.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank k9todd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antigua hotels
14.1 mi away
Casa Santo Domingo
Casa Santo Domingo
#6 of 82 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,155 reviews
0.5 mi away
Porta Hotel Antigua
Porta Hotel Antigua
#3 of 82 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Cirilo
Hotel Cirilo
#2 of 82 in Antigua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Camino Real Antigua
Camino Real Antigua
#8 of 82 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
0.6 mi away
Meson Panza Verde
Meson Panza Verde
#7 of 82 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Casa Antigua
Hotel Casa Antigua
#25 of 82 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Convento Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Convento Boutique Hotel

Property: El Convento Boutique Hotel
Address: 2a. Avenida Norte # 11, Antigua 03002, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Antigua
#3 Luxury Hotel in Antigua
#5 Romantic Hotel in Antigua
#9 Family Hotel in Antigua
#9 Business Hotel in Antigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — El Convento Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a cobblestone street across from the legendary Capuchinas Convent, in the heart of Antigua Guatemala, El Convento Boutique Hotel welcomes visitors to an oasis of stunning elegance and unparalleled comfort. Each of our 26 spacious, exquisitely decorated suites draws upon the history and culture of this famous city, creating an intoxicating blend of traditional simplicity and modern convenience. Our staff anticipates your needs without intruding, offering gracious service and thoughtful amenities that will make you feel more at home than in a hotel. Perhaps that's why El Convento Boutique Hotel was awarded the Most Excellent Hotel in Mexico and Central America by Condé Nast Johansens in 2013, in addition to earning TripAdvisor's coveted 2013 Travellers' Choice award. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your El Convento Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel El Convento Boutique

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing