We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing and charming”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
El Convento Boutique Hotel
Ranked #2 of 75 Hotels in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 14, 2014

Friends had recommended El Convento in Antigua, the beautiful cobble-stoned city in Guatemala. The hotel was exceptional, we were treated like royalty and relaxed amongst the gardens and beautifully appointment rooms. Beds were heavenly, as was the service and friendliness of the staff. Food in the restaurant was delicious and dining service was beyond expectations.
Evenings brought hot cocoa and cookies to the room and lighted candles in room.
So relaxing...

Room Tip: Rooms have small patio areas and you will always hear the soothing trickling of water fountains from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (627)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

265 - 271 of 627 reviews

Reviewed June 4, 2014

This is one of the most beautiful hotels I have ever seen, the gardens and fountains are impeccably maintained and the service is superb.

The restaurant is small and intimate with a great selection of gourmet dishes.

The rooms in the hotel are absolutely breathtaking, a must see in Antigua!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marimba_y_Elote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014

This place was peaceful, out of the way but not too far from the main park and other points of interest. The service is exceptional. Recommend this place for a romantic get-away. Very secure. Rooms were comfortable.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deleosi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2014

Like most places in Antigua, outside you just see a wall..... But once you get inside this magical place the feeling of travelling back in time is something I will never forget. The rooms are very cozy, the corridors are elegant.... this is a beautiful place with great service.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1Arlyn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014

The rooms were beautiful, each one very unique. We had to opportunity to stay in two of the Junior Suites - Las Huertas (fireplace, large bathroom with glass shower and tub but no terrace) and San Jose (huge private terrace, great tub and separate glass shower). If these were the Junior Suites, I would love to see what the Grand Suites looked like in person. This is truly a great boutique hotel, walking distance from the main square and the Arch. The service is excellent and the food is even better. Enjoyed all of our breakfasts as well as our perfect dinner at the restaurant on site.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms have A/C, some have ceiling fans instead. If you prefer one over the other, make...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cakoukla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2014

This place is amazing... great gardens , tiny swimming pool but not important, one doesnt go to Antigua to stay in a hotel pool
every detail has been clearly well thought, bathrooms huge and very clean, each room has a name
walking distance from everything
they have a buffet breakfast during week ends only and very nice lounge terrace on the roof

I had one problem though with my final bill.. I had a suite, booked at special usd rates on internet, 204 usd per night for saturday till sunday, and 153 usd for week days... they covered me first all nights at 204, which was not what I had booked ... I had copy of my internet booking so they agreed but on top they didnt charge me in USD but in local currrency at 8.15 quetzal per USD which is far from 7.70 official rate ... I dont think it is fair if you propose a deal in one currency, that is the currency you charge to customer

Room Tip: my room 215 has a jaccuzi outside in private garden which is very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paris16traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2014 via mobile

They are very unprofessional:
- They showed our credit card number publicaly
- We did the reservation on their website, confirmation said "prepaid" but we had to pay again onsite
- It took us an hour to do the checkout
The hotel is very well located and staff is very nice!

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Kasiaetcharles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo
0.5 mi away
Porta Hotel Antigua
Porta Hotel Antigua
#3 of 75 in Antigua
898 reviews
0.5 mi away
Camino Real Antigua
Camino Real Antigua
#5 of 75 in Antigua
785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Cirilo
Hotel Cirilo
#7 of 75 in Antigua
422 reviews
0.6 mi away
Meson Panza Verde
Meson Panza Verde
#9 of 75 in Antigua
440 reviews
1.4 mi away
Finca Filadelfia Coffee Resort & Tours
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Convento Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Convento Boutique Hotel

Address: 2a. Avenida Norte # 11, Antigua 03002, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Location: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Antigua
#2 Luxury Hotel in Antigua
#5 Romantic Hotel in Antigua
#9 Business Hotel in Antigua
#9 Family Hotel in Antigua
Price Range: $199 - $349 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — El Convento Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a cobblestone street across from the legendary Capuchinas Convent, in the heart of Antigua Guatemala, El Convento Boutique Hotel welcomes visitors to an oasis of stunning elegance and unparalleled comfort. Each of our 26 spacious, exquisitely decorated suites draws upon the history and culture of this famous city, creating an intoxicating blend of traditional simplicity and modern convenience. Our staff anticipates your needs without intruding, offering gracious service and thoughtful amenities that will make you feel more at home than in a hotel. Perhaps that's why El Convento Boutique Hotel was awarded the Most Excellent Hotel in Mexico and Central America by Condé Nast Johansens in 2013, in addition to earning TripAdvisor's coveted 2013 Travellers' Choice award. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your El Convento Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel El Convento Boutique

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing