We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Boutique Hotel - Great Accomodation, Staff & Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
El Convento Boutique Hotel
Ranked #2 of 75 Hotels in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 22, 2014

Just left Antigua this morning and we absolutely loved El Convento, for a number of reasons:
*Atmosphere / Decor - Very beautiful but also low-key. We stayed in the San Jose Room which has an amazing bathroom and outdoor terrace. Comfortable and clean as well.
*Location - walking proximity to everything - local attractions and great restaurants
*Elu restaurant - was amazing. We ate breakfast there twice and late lunch twice and everything we had was incredible. The staff were equally incredible - beyond nice and accommodating and made us feel so welcome. And they have a great upstairs terrace to eat on and relax.
We would definitely recommend to anyone visiting Antigua.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MeganAl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (630)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

278 - 284 of 631 reviews

Reviewed March 19, 2014 via mobile

My daughter and I are spending a week in Antigua. I stayed in Antigua several years ago as a backpacker and loved the UNESCO heritage listed buildings scattered all around the village. This time I decided to stay in a UNESCO listed hotel. El Convento is not only a stunningly beautiful hotel it has made our holiday, it is an experience in itself not to be missed!

Stayed: March 2014
Thank Tinaparn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

We just returned from a wonderful trip to Guatemala where we stayed in Antigua, on Lake Atitlan and in Tikal.
In Antigua, we chose the El Convento Hotel which totally lived up to our exacting standards. It is beautifully decorated, the room was ultra comfortable, the bathroom clean and attractive with tumbled marble. On the premises there is an attractive restaurant where one can eat any meal of the day in a cozy, brick vaulted setting with lovely service (thank you German) and a bountiful menu of choices. On the second floor there is wonderful open air relaxation area where one can have a drink, eat breakfast or dinner on the week-ends, and at all times sit on comfortable loungers to admire the fantastic view of the volcano which overlooks the town. If the weather is warm enough to swim ( which it wasn't in late February/ early March), you could use the small lap pool which the staff clean daily. Speaking of the staff, they are very friendly, always smiling and aim to please. The hotel is centrally located within 4 blocks of the Parque Central.
If we were to offer any suggestions we would say that the office staff is very busy and the hotel could benefit from a dedicated concierge to help with travel/restaurant/activity arrangements, or any questions that might pop up rather than bothering the office staff. Although we say this as constructive criticism, it is said in no way as a detraction from the marvelous experience we had from our more than one week stay in the El Convento.
As a P.S. we'd like to add that all visitors should be aware that the streets of Antigua are very quiet at night particularly during the week, and one should be aware of the need for caution and use of a taxi to avoid any problems.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sabasavta123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Beautifully decorated, convenient location, professional staff, excellent standards of food are all reasons to book a stay at this wonderful hotel. Thank you to all for making our experience in Antigua such a delight. We look forward to returning to the El Convento Boutique hotel. Note, do enjoy a nice drink on the roof top with breaktaking views of the volcano

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fedfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

I attended a destination wedding in Antigua and El Convento was recommended by the bride. It's beautifully created within ruins of a convent. The staff was lovely, beds were perfect and the linens were the best. I love the bathtub amid the sculptured ruins. But I did not enjoy the room's musty odor.
The very nice and friendly staff was warm but neglected to tell us about the rooftop weekend buffet or other amenities. I had no idea you could pick a scent and treat as the reservation service never sent an email seeking that information. The rooms are far too dimly lit; in fact they were abysmally dark. My recommendation: ask for a second and third hurricane lamp.
We saw our friend's room and were stunned by the patio and spaciousness. One of our friends had a comparably priced junior suite with a fireplace and it was roomy. Ours was not. One was more expensive; the other was the same price as ours. That was unfair.
Suggestion: Do NOT let them assign you to the San Jeronimo Jr. Suite #229. It has 2 queen beds, a window that has bars as it faces the street and provides no light but lets in too much street noise. There's no room to walk between bed and dresser, no mirror of any size in the room let alone a full length mirror, no coffee pot. Nice toiletries.
We were there for a destination wedding and being able to see ourselves to make adjustments would have been helpful.
Had a delicious breakfast in the dining area. And the hotel is conveniently located. I would recommend it with the caveat I addressed.

Room Tip: Again, don't stay in San Jeromino Room 229. Read the other reviews and tips as well. If the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2014

Beautiful authentic boutique hotel, very quiet. Comfy and nicely decorated rooms with attention to details.

Although it is very nice, the Junior Suite is NOT as mentionned on the website: no seating area with sofa, no tea ir coffee maker, no iron and no ironing machine. The more disappointing was the sofa as there was no space to sit, which is very strange for a Suite! No bath slippers, which is also a basic for this hotel category.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank emercenier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2014

El Convento is even better than it's website - we arrived late and tired after travelling from Copan, Honduras. The moment we entered the hotel we felt great.
It has been very cleverly designed within the existing ruins.
Our room was a Jr Suite - very spacious - interior design excellent - fabulous linens in both bath and bedroom - a tumbled marble bathroom - very large and with heated towel bars - and a marvelous king bed.
We arrived at their restaurant just before closing - service and food were excellent.
The roof top has views of the town and surrounding volcanoes.
The location is excellent for walking anywhere in town.
We also stayed in Museo Santa Domingo which seems to be the other hotel of choice in this category in Antigua - we much preferred the "boutique" atmosphere of El Convento.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo
0.5 mi away
Porta Hotel Antigua
Porta Hotel Antigua
#3 of 75 in Antigua
898 reviews
0.5 mi away
Camino Real Antigua
Camino Real Antigua
#5 of 75 in Antigua
786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Cirilo
Hotel Cirilo
#6 of 75 in Antigua
424 reviews
0.6 mi away
Meson Panza Verde
Meson Panza Verde
#9 of 75 in Antigua
440 reviews
1.4 mi away
Finca Filadelfia Coffee Resort & Tours
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Convento Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Convento Boutique Hotel

Address: 2a. Avenida Norte # 11, Antigua 03002, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Location: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Antigua
#2 Luxury Hotel in Antigua
#5 Romantic Hotel in Antigua
#9 Family Hotel in Antigua
#9 Business Hotel in Antigua
Price Range: $198 - $352 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — El Convento Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a cobblestone street across from the legendary Capuchinas Convent, in the heart of Antigua Guatemala, El Convento Boutique Hotel welcomes visitors to an oasis of stunning elegance and unparalleled comfort. Each of our 26 spacious, exquisitely decorated suites draws upon the history and culture of this famous city, creating an intoxicating blend of traditional simplicity and modern convenience. Our staff anticipates your needs without intruding, offering gracious service and thoughtful amenities that will make you feel more at home than in a hotel. Perhaps that's why El Convento Boutique Hotel was awarded the Most Excellent Hotel in Mexico and Central America by Condé Nast Johansens in 2013, in addition to earning TripAdvisor's coveted 2013 Travellers' Choice award. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your El Convento Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel El Convento Boutique

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing