We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy and comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
El Convento Boutique Hotel
Ranked #2 of 75 Hotels in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 1, 2014

This is one of the best boutique hotel we have stayed in. We only wished we could stay longer than just one night. The room is spacious and extremely comfortable. Outdoor jacuzzi tub with the partially restored old convent walls around it was the highlight of the room. Great views of the city from the 2nd floor. We will definitely come back next time we are in town.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank Alex T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (631)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

292 - 298 of 632 reviews

Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

Very good for relax. Breakfast is not ideal but still ok. Recommend for couples not for families with small kids. Staff is open. We have not been serviced during party on the first flor ( close party). Not good if you have hotel guests. Overall 4stars and + for interior spirit.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Aleksander P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2013 via mobile

Very relaxing with lovely water feature features and tasteful decor. A little too beige for my liking but most people will love that? Very classy.

Awfully dark in the room - and in the rest of the hotel in the evening - not enough light to read a book but great for a romantic hideaway?

You really need to speak some Spanish in the restaurant as the staff are lovely but have virtually no English. Best to look up useful Spanish phrases if you have food allergies as you will find them very useful in Guatemala. It is good to be somewhere where English is not the norm!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
Thank Jisabella21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2013

This hotel is a great place to chill. After a day of exploring, it is the perfect place to relax. The rooms, common spaces and gardens are well thought out. Aromatherapy is used throughout to help maintain a peaceful vibe. If you are going to do a splurge in Guatemala, this is a great place to get a suite. Our suite was large with a great bathroom and patio. The patios have high walls to provide plenty of privacy and ours had a great outdoor Jacuzzi. So awesome to relax and see the stars before going to bed. This place would be perfect for a honeymoon. And yes, I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: If you have your heart set on a Jacuzzi make sure you request ahead as not all suites have them. So...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2013

We had planned to stay in another nice hotel in Antigua, but our Travel Agency suggested considering here as a less well-known boutique alternative. Perfect choice !

The rooms, staff, rooftop bar, ambience, décor and location are all fantastic. We couldn't have had anything better. The best was the restaurant (for breakfast as well as evening meals etc). The food was exquisite, service prompt and polite and the coffee perfect (it is Antiguan after all).

I couldn't recommend El Convento enough - if you're going to Antigua, you must try here.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DiverHP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

From the moment you enter you know you are going
to have a pampered experience.

We dropped our bags in the room and headed straight
for the restaurant (Sitz) as we were starving.

The food was excellent. From appetizers to the main courses
to the desserts.

The fish was especially outstanding.

Later, go up to the terrace for a late night cocktail before
retiring back to your room.

The rooms are especially nice too. Comfortable beds and nice
ambiance.

The service was excellent all around.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2013

El Convento Boutique Hotel in Antigua, Guatemala was spectacular! The building itself is simply gorgeous, the rooms are large with beautiful stone and woodwork, fireplaces, courtyards....The beds are incredibly comfortable. And the rainshowers - dreamy! The upstairs sitting area/bar is a great place to meet friends for a coffee or a cocktail and an amazing view of one of the many volcanoes. The staff could not be more friendly and helpful. Whatever I needed was quickly and efficiently handled. The location is ideal - just a few short blocks to the town square, restaurants, nightlife, churches, shopping, etc. Do not miss this beautiful gem when in Antigua!

Room Tip: I am quite certain there are NO bad rooms in this wonderful hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alpharita A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo
0.5 mi away
Porta Hotel Antigua
Porta Hotel Antigua
#3 of 75 in Antigua
899 reviews
0.5 mi away
Camino Real Antigua
Camino Real Antigua
#6 of 75 in Antigua
789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Cirilo
Hotel Cirilo
#5 of 75 in Antigua
424 reviews
0.6 mi away
Meson Panza Verde
Meson Panza Verde
#9 of 75 in Antigua
440 reviews
1.4 mi away
Finca Filadelfia Coffee Resort & Tours
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Convento Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Convento Boutique Hotel

Address: 2a. Avenida Norte # 11, Antigua 03002, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Location: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Antigua
#2 Luxury Hotel in Antigua
#5 Romantic Hotel in Antigua
#9 Family Hotel in Antigua
#9 Business Hotel in Antigua
Price Range: $198 - $350 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — El Convento Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a cobblestone street across from the legendary Capuchinas Convent, in the heart of Antigua Guatemala, El Convento Boutique Hotel welcomes visitors to an oasis of stunning elegance and unparalleled comfort. Each of our 26 spacious, exquisitely decorated suites draws upon the history and culture of this famous city, creating an intoxicating blend of traditional simplicity and modern convenience. Our staff anticipates your needs without intruding, offering gracious service and thoughtful amenities that will make you feel more at home than in a hotel. Perhaps that's why El Convento Boutique Hotel was awarded the Most Excellent Hotel in Mexico and Central America by Condé Nast Johansens in 2013, in addition to earning TripAdvisor's coveted 2013 Travellers' Choice award. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your El Convento Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel El Convento Boutique

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing