We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
El Convento Boutique Hotel
Nearby Hotels
San Rafael Hotel(Antigua)
$125
$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$111
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Porta Hotel Antigua(Antigua)
$145
$134
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$180
$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$119
$104
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$98
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$241
$139
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$157
$126
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa Encantada(Antigua)
$129
$103
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Meson del Valle(Antigua)(Great Value!)
$70
$47
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (684)
Filter reviews
684 results
Traveler rating
519
109
36
10
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
519
109
36
10
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate jacuzzismall luxuryrain showerjunior suiteamerican breakfastconverted conventspiral staircasewalking distancehuge bathroomsmall poolrooms are beautifulquiet streetsitting areaspent two nightssecond floorvisit antiguaroof terrace
Filter
Updating list...
342 - 347 of 684 reviews
Reviewed November 2, 2013

I booked this well located charming hotel for 4 days while visiting Antigua. It is within 4 blocks of Parque Centrale. Initially was a little spooky walking the last 2 blocks at night back to the hotel but didn't run into any trouble. Staff is warm, courteous and professional. Good hotel restaurant. Gorgeous rooftop lounging area with a view of the city.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chas Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We had amazing time....weekend romantic getaway at the perfect place!!!
The beds are fantastic, great service, decoration and a great terrace with a fireplace to cozy up and have a drink!
Details all around, they kept our bags while it was check-in time, delicious entrance cocktail, lighting and interior design in the hotel over all are lovely. Really good service and yummy brunch!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank renatamorenoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Could not find the Stiz restaurant in the search engine, but it is a great little place. My wife had the ravioli in a gargonzola sauce which was rich and very flavorful. I had the gourmet version of a Mayan stew which was wonderful. The service was good with an attentive waiter. The menu was in English and Spanish which was a nice touch as our Spanish is not quite there yet. I would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Bumpercarr1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

The rooms were top notch with details such as towel warmers in the Suite. The bed was very comfortable with a thick duvet to sleep soundly through the night. Blackout curtains kept the morning sun out of our eyes. The private room patio (which I originally understood to be a balcony but it was not) had nice chairs and a table, as well as a Jacuzzi tub.

The staff was very friendly and helpful, and would come at night to light the fireplace upon our request.

The only minor negative point was that there wasn't a bottle opener in the room, and when asking reception, they did tell us that at any time someone would come to the room to open the bottle for us. Helpful, but it still would have been easier for us to have a bottle opener in the room.

The grounds were lush and green, and with a nice pool that we didn't take advantage of, but it looked very inviting. We didn't eat at the restaurant but it looked beautiful, and we saw them cleaning it by removing all of the tables more than once per day. It looked like a lot of attention was given to ensure a clean restaurant. Having coffee on the rooftop terrace with views of the volcanos was a peaceful way to spend some time.

The location is two blocks walking from the town center park/plaza. You are also about two blocks from the Santa Catalina Arch and pedestrian area, as well as some beautiful churches nearby. The hotel is very well situated.

I would love to return to this excellent boutique hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The_Traveller954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

the most amazing hotel in Antigua, Number 1 in its class, Great Location, perfect place to relax ant get to all Antigua most see. The rooms are Amazing, music, shower.
The service is excellent and the restaurant has a very nice atmosphere. The Terrace has a beautiful view of the Volcan de Agua witch is one of the most beautiful volcanos in the world. from there you can see also de Acatenango and Fuego Volcano that are usually in eruption. the central park is 3 blocks away and the Convento of Capuchinas is just across the street, this one is the best kept Ruin in Antigua that shows what the Colonial architecture is all about.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 340Manuel_2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews