We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastico!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
El Convento Boutique Hotel
Ranked #3 of 82 Hotels in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fantastico!”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

I Highly recommend this hotel. Beautiful spacious rooms and gracious service. Wonderful food in the restaurant. Charming character and easy walking distance to everything. Can't imagine a better place to stay in antigua. The only problem: we arranged for them to send a car to meet us at the airport and it never showed up.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Debra G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    422
    98
    30
    9
    8
See reviews for
111
285
22
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
chicago
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2013

I just read the less favorable reviews and I do not see any observable signs of the complaints listed from past guests. There is a new management and the desired improvements must have been made because all I see is a lovely manager who is present and attentive, lovely, friendly and helpful staff, a gorgeous hotel, a gorgeous suite (I'm in the Hermano Pedro suite)-- immaculately clean-- and, wonderful food both in the restaurant and in room service. My personal opinion as a repeat visitor in Antigua (I come once a year) is that this is the best hotel. I do not understand why the currently rated #1 hotel is the one currently listed as such. I find Hotel El Convento superior in all aspects described above, and, additionally, the location is top notch and more desirable. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cbeb9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013

We stayed at El Convento for two nights recently. We had a gorgeous room on the ground floor with an outside Jacuzzi. The bed was deliciously comfortable and the bathroom was spacious and well designed. The hotel arranged for us to have a massage in our room one evening and it was the best I have ever had anywhere in the world, which is saying something! My only negative comment would be that the restaurant staff did sit around a lot chatting amongst themselves and there didn't appear to be any management around at all to manage them. None of the waiters spoke English, which made ordering anything other than what was offered for breakfast (fried or scrambled egg) a bit frustrating. We didn't eat dinner at the hotel so can't comment that. The roof terrace was gorgeous but it was too windy on the afternoon we went up there to stay for too long.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank arentwelucky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

We stayed one night while in Antigua and this place was perfect. Very tastefully designed, friendly staff and centrally located. Great find. I would love to stay at an El Convento everywhere I travel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angelathomason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Ideal location, on walking distance from the market plaza. Restaurants and shops.
Very friendly personnel. Quit environment. From the hotel you can visit Antigua by walking.
Best restaurant in town. Breakfast with personnal service. Rooftop bar. Very spacious rooms.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kaleidoscoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa Florida
Level Contributor
75 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

We stayed one night at this beautiful hotel. It is centrally located and the rooms/decor are perfect. The building is a traditional Spanish colonial, adjacent to a church. The staff was very attentive and friendly. The bedding was comfortable and the rooms sparkling clean. The breakfast was first rate in the morning. Overall, couldn't be happier with my experience and will stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank essoccer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this elegant hotel, which is a beautifully restored convent. Our room was Dona Anica on the ground floor, which was large enough for a couple and had very high ceilings.The room had a beautiful enclosed patio with an outside private jacuzzi, which made for a great experience to relax after the long walks in the city. The bathroom was fabulous with a beautiful bath and rain shower. The only drawback of the room was that it was very dark, with limited outside windows and very dim lights. For packing we had to move the suitcase in front of the window. The service was very friendly and the manager Carmen went out of her way to please us. Highly recommended for couples!

Room Tip: Management allowed us to view a couple of rooms before choosing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yaron P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo
0.5 mi away
Porta Hotel Antigua
Porta Hotel Antigua
#4 of 82 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 845 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Cirilo
Hotel Cirilo
#8 of 82 in Antigua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Camino Real Antigua
Camino Real Antigua
#7 of 82 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
0.6 mi away
Meson Panza Verde
Meson Panza Verde
#6 of 82 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Casa Antigua
Hotel Casa Antigua
#28 of 82 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Convento Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Convento Boutique Hotel

Property: El Convento Boutique Hotel
Address: 2a. Avenida Norte # 11, Antigua 03002, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Antigua
#2 Luxury Hotel in Antigua
#5 Romantic Hotel in Antigua
#9 Family Hotel in Antigua
#9 Business Hotel in Antigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — El Convento Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a cobblestone street across from the legendary Capuchinas Convent, in the heart of Antigua Guatemala, El Convento Boutique Hotel welcomes visitors to an oasis of stunning elegance and unparalleled comfort. Each of our 26 spacious, exquisitely decorated suites draws upon the history and culture of this famous city, creating an intoxicating blend of traditional simplicity and modern convenience. Our staff anticipates your needs without intruding, offering gracious service and thoughtful amenities that will make you feel more at home than in a hotel. Perhaps that's why El Convento Boutique Hotel was awarded the Most Excellent Hotel in Mexico and Central America by Condé Nast Johansens in 2013, in addition to earning TripAdvisor's coveted 2013 Travellers' Choice award. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your El Convento Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel El Convento Boutique

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing