We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint Colonial Charm”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
El Convento Boutique Hotel
Ranked #2 of 75 Hotels in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 2, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the El Convento in Antigua for one night. It was phenomenal. If you have any experience in Latin America, you know that the standard of comfortable beds is vastly different from those standards in the US and Europe. Even the best hotels have crummy board hard beds. Well not here....the beds were extremely comfortable and a king size as well. The room was intimate and tasteful. The hotel is a converted convent and only has 26 rooms. All are unique and have names. Ours was San Francisco. We had a nice balcony overlooking a lush courtyard. The staff were very attentive. The shower was huge and very nice with L'Occitane amenities. Some reviewers commented on the dim lighting....it was dim, however, given that the hotel retained the historic details of the convent, it is a modern miracle that there is lighting. I used the mirror in our bedroom to apply make up. Another advantage to El Convento is while very close to the central park, it is off the main thoroughfare so it is quiet. This is important in Antigua, as it is a lively town with lots of foot traffic on the main streets. We finished our stay by enjoying a delicious breakfast the following morning. You will not be disappointed if you choose this gem.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ibgagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (649)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

373 - 379 of 649 reviews

Reviewed July 30, 2012

This was the first hotel in Guatemala on our trip to Central America and we loved it.

We were greeted on arrival by the friendly reception desk and while there was some confusion over our reservation, things got sorted out quickly and we got an upgrade.

The rooms are indeed somewhat dark but very comfortable and impeccably clean. Bathrooms are well stocked and spotless.

We went for dinner that same night at the hotel and were treated to a delicious dinner by the chef Titi.

Location is a little off center of the town but it only takes about 5 minutes to walk to the central park.

The only disappointing thing about this place is that it does not have a pool. Rather, they have a little something that is called a pool but it is an oversized outdoor bath if anything. We did not care about it since the purpose of the trip was sightseeing, but some may be disappointed.

Room Tip: We stayed at the rooms Hermano Pedro and Don Felipe
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank D K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is located in the most charming old convent that has been restored to perfection. The room is fantastic stylished decorated and with small private courtyards.The hotel is located 7 min walk from the central cathedral and park. It is properly the best hotel I ever stayed in.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karpatschof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

This is a very nice small boutique hotel, very well located in Antigua, Guatemala. Everything here is wood and stone, reminding of a spanish colonial house with very well kept gardens. Personnel is very polite and diligent (although service at the restaurant was a little slow). Size of rooms, bathrooms and especially showers are great. El Convento is a very good option in La Antigua.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoseAlea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

El Convento is a well known hotel in Antigua. And yes the location is great and the ruin setting is beautiful. However, everything is very dark; lighting is really poor. And service wise it is a pity. Many of the things did not work: safe, Internet, iPod player.. When asked the staff, they were very nonchalant about it or simply didn't care at all. The name of the manager was asked; response? We are not authorized to give it. Caring for your guests? I would say not really.. Too bad for them..

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roukiat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

We recently stayed at El Convento Boutique Hotel in Antigua and it was a wonderful experience.
The architecture is unique and beautiful, it was previously a convent, as the name suggests, and it could not have been more beautiful. The rooms are spacious, clean and beautifully decorated in local handicraft.
The staff were welcoming and extremely helpful. But the highlight was the new chef! She was ABSOLUTELY AMAZING!! Chichi (that is what everyone calls her), mixes local flavors with international touches that will leave you running back to the hotel for all your meals! She personally welcomes all the diners and proceeds to give a description of her ever changing offerings. And I thought New York City had great restaurants! Kudos to Chichi and her staff for making our stay in Antigua not only a cultural experience but a culinary experience as well.
This gem of a hotel is perfect for families, romantic/honeymoons and everything else in between.
We would not think of staying anywhere else in Antigua.
Thank you for the wonderful memories and we look forward to our return.
The Chambers family, New York City, NY

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a fireplace
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vbchambers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

After reading reviews of several hotels at the Tripadvisor, I had booked a romantic package at this property and me and my wife were treated as royal guests. The room was fantastic not less than any 5* star hotel with rain shower and for this package they placed roses on the bed. Since the reservation included dinner & breakfast Executive chef Titi Bruderer prepared delicious fish with excellent spices and a full breakfast.

All the staff particularly those at the reception were very cooperative. This hotel is also walking distance to all the attraction and therefore those in search of outstanding property in Antigua must stay at this hotel instead of any big expensive property.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KIWIPAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo
0.5 mi away
Porta Hotel Antigua
Porta Hotel Antigua
#3 of 75 in Antigua
926 reviews
0.5 mi away
Camino Real Antigua
Camino Real Antigua
#5 of 75 in Antigua
809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Cirilo
Hotel Cirilo
#6 of 75 in Antigua
430 reviews
1.4 mi away
Finca Filadelfia Coffee Resort & Tours
0.6 mi away
Pensativo House Hotel
Pensativo House Hotel
#11 of 75 in Antigua
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Convento Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Convento Boutique Hotel

Address: 2a. Avenida Norte # 11, Antigua 03002, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Location: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Antigua
#2 Luxury Hotel in Antigua
#5 Romantic Hotel in Antigua
#9 Business Hotel in Antigua
Price Range: $194 - $343 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — El Convento Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a cobblestone street across from the legendary Capuchinas Convent, in the heart of Antigua Guatemala, El Convento Boutique Hotel welcomes visitors to an oasis of stunning elegance and unparalleled comfort. Each of our 26 spacious, exquisitely decorated suites draws upon the history and culture of this famous city, creating an intoxicating blend of traditional simplicity and modern convenience. Our staff anticipates your needs without intruding, offering gracious service and thoughtful amenities that will make you feel more at home than in a hotel. Perhaps that's why El Convento Boutique Hotel was awarded the Most Excellent Hotel in Mexico and Central America by Condé Nast Johansens in 2013, in addition to earning TripAdvisor's coveted 2013 Travellers' Choice award. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your El Convento Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel El Convento Boutique

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing