We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stunningly gorgeous hotel with great staff, unbelievable for the price.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Convento Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
El Convento Boutique Hotel
Ranked #4 of 82 Hotels in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Stunningly gorgeous hotel with great staff, unbelievable for the price.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2011

We were attending a wedding at the Santo Domingo hotel in Antigua, but it was booked up. Having never been to Antigua, we really didn't know where to stay. After much consideration we choose El Convento as a second choice. Some of the reviews had me a little worried about what I was going to find when I got there. I have done quite a bit of traveling over the world, staying at Ritz Carltons or Hiltons, so my expectations might be abnormally high. This hotel is just amazing. The staff couldn't have been more friendly or helpful. They spoke enough english. From the moment you enter the door, every inch of the hotel is something to behold. Carved wooden doors, ancient building, yet modern decor in the rooms. It's just a beautiful romantic setting. We didn't find, nor take home any bedbugs, if this was an issue, they must have resolved it. We didn't opt for the "suite" with the hot tub outside (and gladly so) however our friends did. The rooms are smaller than the one we had, and the hot tub is really tiny, my boyfriend is over 6 foot and absolutely would not have fit, he'd have been eye level with his knees in it. Our room was huge with a living room and sky light. We stayed for 5 days, and couldn't stop commenting on how gorgeous the entire hotel was for the whole trip. We did get the chance to tour Santo Domingo, and while it was gorgeous too, we really liked the relaxing, calm, botique atmosphere of El Convento. Would stay there again in a second.

Room Tip: Ask for El Obispo, it's huge, but not extra $
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pickymiss12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    411
    98
    29
    9
    8
See reviews for
108
280
22
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perry, OK
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2011

We booked this hotel on expedia for $140+tax. It is a beautiful hotel with everything one could desire. The rooms are hugh and the bathrooms are even bigger. There is plenty of room for 2 people in the shower. Each room had their own private courtyard with a fountain. We wanted to book the hotel for 7 more nights but they wanted 190+tax and would not lower the price. This was the nicest hotel I visited in Antigua. I would recommend it for a romantic couple.

Room Tip: The 1st off the entry has a beautiful courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pooh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2011

It was our first visit to Antigua and let me tell you, at this place you won' be disssapointed at all. The staff is friendly and very helpful not to mention the amazing setting.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rogerlmendez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2011

We stayed in this hotel for a couple of days and really enjoyed it. The hotel has a beautiful design. It is very serene and quiet.The rooms are big and with very high ceilings. Our room had a private garden and a nice fire place that was lit every night. Bed was very comfortable and with nice linens. Bathroom had a really nice shower with glass ceiling and lots of water preassure. Front desk staff was helpfull and friendly. Location was excellent. Very close to the main square but far enough to be quiet. I would stay in this hotel again if I travel back to Antigua.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wor7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2011

We spent four nights at El Convento while in Guatemala for a friend's wedding. The hotel is beautiful, and extremely peaceful - the perfect place to get away from it all. Food was wonderful, although pretty expensive by local standards. Staff were extremely courteous - the service at the wedding after-party (which was held at the hotel) was so friendly, and yet still professional. Location is perfect for exploring Antigua, just opposite the ruins of Las Capuchinas, and no more than a few minutes walk from the main plaza.

However, as Bret Michaels would say, every rose has its thorn. El Convento's is the travel agency that they recommend to their guests. Since almost everyone staying here is either foreign or a wealthy local, it is understandable that the travel agency might try to hike their prices a little. Yet this particular agency displayed both ineptitude and sheer cheek that went beyond anything we've experienced before. We first tried to book a trip to Tikal - a short flight from Guatemala City. Having been told that flight availability was extremely limited, we agreed to book flights leaving the City at 6am, hence requiring us to leave the hotel at 4am. It was not until 10pm the night before that we were told that the flights were, in fact, fully booked - it would have been nice to know this more than 6 hours in advance.

But mistakes happen, so we were willing to forgive this and use the agency to book a shuttle bus to Atitlan. We were given a price of Q275 (about $35) for a return trip for two people to the Lake. This seemed pretty cheap, but having confirmed that the price was indeed in Quetzals and not Dollars, we agreed to book the shuttle bus. When the bus turned up, the driver informed us that the price had magically risen to $275 - about the price of a return flight from Chicago to LA. Not impressed. The driver seemed bemused as to why we were unwilling to pay close to three hundred bucks for a 3 hour bus ride, and kept asking us if we were ready to leave.

Having sent this miscreant on his way, we phoned the hotel at which we were staying in Atitlan (Villa Sumaya - a wonderful place in every respect), and asked them if, at such late noticed, we'd be able to get a bus through them. They were extremely helpful and managed to secure us a private shuttle that cost $30.

All in all, a great hotel (assuming that you can secure reasonable rates), just stay away from their travel agency - book through another operator in town, or better yet, do it yourself.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Serge_Ozbek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2010

Upon reading the other reviews, I would say I have to disagree with the being ripped off complaints. Granted, I am not an extremely picky or pampered person (not saying they are!!!) so maybe my opinions aren't going to be as valuable, but for us simple honeymooners it was exquisite and more than what we asked for. It is very pricey for Guatemala but they delivered to where I felt we spent our money well.

We entered our room (Anica) and we were greeted with a smell of eucalyptus (which we picked prior via many emails w/ the hotel personnel) and a vase of roses, rose petals and candles everywhere. The outdoor jacuzzi was also filled with rose petals and the 15 foot wall made it very private and relaxing. We loved it! Free wake up calls w/ coffee for two...the milk was always hot though (that is just how they do it there, I guess.) Everyone there would jump at anything we asked for and they were prompt with what they said they would do. I also felt very safe there...unlike a lot of other places. It's a little further away than the ones that are near the square so that may be why.... they do not have armed guards like some of the other places we saw.

Only complaint-- weekend nights it is NOISY. Parties on the balcony and at the Convent across the street made it impossible to sleep Fri and Sat night! We stay up late (midnight or so) but there were fireworks going til two am!! I think that would be at any hotel, though, because all of them are sort of half inside-half outside.

We ate at many hotels but I have to say that this one was by far the most beautiful, rustic and luxurious that we came across. The food was very delicious.

My favorite part I think is the HUGE terrace with a cozy fireplace and a telescope! (Which no one seemed to know how to use though haha) We felt very well treated and like we were on a true exotic escape.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kmsh27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Level Contributor
398 reviews
133 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2010

This hotel has a great colonial feel, detailed hand craftsmanship, and beautiful grounds with all the modern amenities. Our room was large and comfortable with an attractive private patio and lion head fountain. The shower was luxurious with it's 12" rain faucet, and we appreciated the double sinks. The room was always made up while we were away. Per previous postings the lighting is a bit dim, but we spent our reading and computer time in the bright living room area where it was bright and the doors were always open to the garden and fountains. We loved the fresh flowers in the day and the candle lit walkways at night. The sunsets and volcanoes were a delight to view from the rooftop terrace where we enjoyed a glass of wine each evening. The food and service were both good.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pucgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antigua hotels
14.1 mi away
Casa Santo Domingo
Casa Santo Domingo
#6 of 82 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,155 reviews
0.5 mi away
Porta Hotel Antigua
Porta Hotel Antigua
#3 of 82 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Cirilo
Hotel Cirilo
#2 of 82 in Antigua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Camino Real Antigua
Camino Real Antigua
#8 of 82 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
0.6 mi away
Meson Panza Verde
Meson Panza Verde
#7 of 82 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Casa Antigua
Hotel Casa Antigua
#25 of 82 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Convento Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Convento Boutique Hotel

Property: El Convento Boutique Hotel
Address: 2a. Avenida Norte # 11, Antigua 03002, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Antigua
#3 Luxury Hotel in Antigua
#5 Romantic Hotel in Antigua
#9 Family Hotel in Antigua
#9 Business Hotel in Antigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — El Convento Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a cobblestone street across from the legendary Capuchinas Convent, in the heart of Antigua Guatemala, El Convento Boutique Hotel welcomes visitors to an oasis of stunning elegance and unparalleled comfort. Each of our 26 spacious, exquisitely decorated suites draws upon the history and culture of this famous city, creating an intoxicating blend of traditional simplicity and modern convenience. Our staff anticipates your needs without intruding, offering gracious service and thoughtful amenities that will make you feel more at home than in a hotel. Perhaps that's why El Convento Boutique Hotel was awarded the Most Excellent Hotel in Mexico and Central America by Condé Nast Johansens in 2013, in addition to earning TripAdvisor's coveted 2013 Travellers' Choice award. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your El Convento Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel El Convento Boutique

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing