We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best bar in Antigua”
Review of Cafe No Se

Cafe No Se
Ranked #1 of 14 Nightlife in Antigua
Attraction details
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Best bar in Antigua”
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Awesome bar... sexy bar tenders... great drinks.. I really like this place. It has a great vibe!! See for yourself

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank lozzi88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    43
    14
    4
    8
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Antigua, Sacatepequez, Guatemala
Level Contributor
128 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Erm...dunno really”
Reviewed June 27, 2012

I used to like this place but something about it has changed now...it is no longer a cheap and cheerful spot like it used to be. It looks like it should be that charming, cheap little hidden gem of a bar that you always find yet it is actually one of the more expensive bars in Antigua, why? Just look at the clientel- tourists, and lots of them. The place is unique (well, rare, not really unique) but it is just that hip bar where all the tourists go. Fine, if you like that sort of thing.

It is fine if you want to hang out with foreign backbackers and get drunk on beers or shots and don't mind paying top dollar for and eat food that is just blah. Free popcorn is still a nice touch. If you are looking for a cheap and cheerful bar there are other options for sure and if you are looking for a Guatemalan style place then avoid.

Incidentally, there is an awesome, cheap little bar that only select tourists seem to know about that is everything No Se used to be. It is called...I'm not saying because I don't want it to end up like Cafe No Se!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank PotterNo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best bar in town”
Reviewed May 25, 2012

In my opinion - and I am not alone with this one - the best bar in Antigua. Always good atmosphere with live music and (mexican) mezcla... Just a 5 mins walk from Parque central..

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Florian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Atitlan
Level Contributor
225 reviews
70 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“Great comfy bar”
Reviewed May 8, 2012

I love this little cozy bar and the patrons that sit down for a drink or few. It always has the best people (on both sides of the bar). Don't miss the opportunity to drink in the one-and-only Illegal Bar in the back.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank kayak-atitlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antigua, Guatemala
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“my 2nd home!”
Reviewed April 19, 2012

"because every dive needs a town AND every town needs a dive like Cafe No Se!"

I first discovered this 'lil gem back in 2007 on my 1st volunteer trip to Guatemala. I am now going on my 7th visit to the country and Cafe No Se still remains my absolute favorite bar in not only Guatemala, but in Central America! Yes - there are backpackers there, who yes - are tourists but it's a great thing that adds to the bar and makes it what it is. Those that hang out in Cafe No Se are a different breed than those that go to other bars nearby. Everyone is worldy, extremely friendly and looking to make friends with locals and other travelers alike. The live music is always amazing! Travelers are invited to perform, which I would imagine gives them the home away from home feeling it gives me from just drinking there. Cafe No Se is a must see! If anything at all at least stop in for a great-priced cerveza and take a walk through the old-school refrigerator to visit the illegal Mezcal Bar ;) Oh and eat some free popcorn. For me it wouldn't be a trip to Guatemala without a stopover or 5 at Cafe No Se. I miss it just writing this review.

If Cafe No Se had beds i might as well just stay there for the night.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank alymo125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe No Se also viewed

Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
 
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
 

Been to Cafe No Se? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing