We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Awesome Staff/Hotel/Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Acme-Traverse City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Acme-Traverse City
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Acme
Levering, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awesome Staff/Hotel/Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

My wife and I have been staying here since 2007. JoeEllen and the rest of the staff are awesome. No matter what comes up they will do thier best to fix it. They also make you feel at home. The rooms are always clean. Breakfast is great.

Thanks you JoeEllen

Room Tip: We generally stay on the first floor but have stayed on all the floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BillandJen_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric V, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Acme-Traverse City, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thank you very much for such a great review. We always love to have you and your family at the hotel. Jo Ellen and her staff take great pride in their hotel are always there to please. Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    64
    30
    6
    5
See reviews for
37
49
7
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Clarkston, Michigan
Level Contributor
535 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Stayed here one night and I have stayed here before. I got upgrated to a larger room. The room was large and had a frig and mircowave. There was a free popcorn in the room. The bathroon was a standard bathroom. The room was very clean.

I used the exercise room. There are 3 peices of equipment. They were all 3 in good working order. Did not use the pool.

This hotel is a about 4 miles outside the town of Traverse City. It is on the same road that takes you into Traverse City. The Grand Traverse Resort is about a mile from this hotel. They have great golfing at this resort.

From my room window I can see the water. You want to ask for a room facing the water. It is across the street.

You have to drive everywhere from this hotel, to far to walk.

The staff was very friendly when I checked in.

Many hotels in this area.

I stay here because I am on business and it serves all my needs.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JeffreyTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAGINAW
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Our company has been staying here exclusively for the past three years. The other hotel nearby,could not/would not,meet our requirements. Nor meet our expectations. Very happy to stay here. Being out of town for weeks and months at a time gets old, but the folks here make every day a little more enjoyable. Thank you Jo Ellen, Kathleen, Jennifer, Ed, and the rest of the very professional staff. See you all very soon. Again.

Room Tip: Odd numbers face the bay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JOHN S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica F, Supervisor at Holiday Inn Express Acme-Traverse City, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind words! We strive to ensure all of our guests have the best experience when they are away from home. We are always happy to have you stay with us and we look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankenmuth, Michigan
Level Contributor
87 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Clean no frills hotel. Stayed in a double queen sized bed layout. Both beds were very comfortable and the linens were clean and fresh as was the whole room. The bathroom was well supplied and very clean. I have stayed at much "higher end" HIE brand hotels but this place has everything you need for an overnight stay. It is relatively close to restaurants and the gambling casino. I did not see any shuttle buses in operation.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MSM19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
117 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Here’s a very pleasant surprise! We booked on short notice, and used IHG points to get this property for free. We were concerned about the distance from Traverse City, but that was actually a non-issue.

The Assistant GM checked us in, and very kindly upgraded us to a small suite. (thank you IHG Gold status!) Our room had a king bed and a foldout couch, along with a microwave and fridge. VERY clean, very nice. Plenty of towels, lots of room. Solid wifi signal throughout.

We had breakfast two mornings here, and it was thorough and well prepared. Kiddo loved the pancake machine.

We enjoyed the pool each evening, too, with Kiddo splashing happily, whilst we enjoyed the hot tub/jacuzzi.

There is no restaurant here, but happily recommend both Franks BayView Inn (see my review) and Thatsa Pizza (see my review). The BayView is a short drive, while Thatsa Pizza is walking distance. Hint: If you order from Thatsa Pizza, do NOT have them deliver… just walk down the hill, across the Sleep Inn parking lot and around the fence, and there you are.

I did read prior reviews about things like noise, renovations, etc. YES, they are finishing renovations, and there were guys installing mirrors on our hallway. YES, I did see room doors which had a good 2 inch gap between the floor and the bottom of the door… (ours wasn’t one of those). That said, there were no smells, the carpets were clean, the wallcoverings were fully attached, and we were quite happy here.

Net: YES, the Gardiner family would return to this property.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chauncey_Gardiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

This hotel is a good standard facility. No complaint's except ONE and it was the breakfast "EGGS" were so bad ... grainy and not fluffy and tasted like yesterday's eggs. I could not eat them and I am not a picky eater. They should not have served them. I really like my "Holiday Inn Express" hotel's this was so unusual to have to say "THIS WAS A BAD EGG"... :O(

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sharonchicago15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica F, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Acme-Traverse City, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Thank you for your concerns regarding the quality of our eggs on the breakfast bar, I would like to ensure you that we take the health of all guest very seriously and we would never jeopardize the health of anyone. This is not typical of our standards and we will address this concern immediately. We definitely take responsibility for this and we are taking the necessary steps to make sure this does not happen again. We would like to thank you again for sharing your experience and thank you for being so loyal to our brand. We look forward to seeing you in the future for your travel needs when visiting the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Michigan
Level Contributor
213 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

The Labor Day Weekend we went to this hotel for a couple cays stay. The staff was wonderful. The bedding and pillows were great. Room had a nice size. Prices were as high as hotels that offered "more" amenities. Walls are thin, and it was very noisy (late night, and early morning). Toilet problems. There was a foul odor of a "sewage smell" coming from the toilet and waste products that backed up. Maintenance was nice, quick, friendly. The ceiling fan did not operate so bathroom was steamy after showers. Also ceiling vent was half hanging off ceiling due to a screw missing. Outside windows were fogged up between panes so view of water was clouded and impaired. This hotel is undergoing a refurbishing, and hopefully these details will be addressed. The breakfast hours are 6-9:30 and each time we went down, it was crowded, and food needed to be replentished. Fruit was under ripe. Lots of people and kids, loitering so we couldn't eat there and left to go out to area restaurants. Never used pool because there were too many people. There were foreign adults wearing street clothes swimming in the pool and hot tub. There were health concerns why management didn't do anything. They need a larger breakfast area. Also the computer had no paper for printing all days we stayed there. Maybe they couldn't handle so many people all at once?

Room Tip: Do know any.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sassytoothfairy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica F, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Acme-Traverse City, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
I would like to thank you for sharing your concerns while staying with us over the holiday weekend. We understand your concerns and as we are undergoing some renovations these area’s are on our list of things that need attention immediately. I would like to apologize for the inconvenience you encountered while attempting to get breakfast. We take all feedback very seriously and all issues will be addressed and we hope that you will give us another chance in the future to wow you, we do hope to welcome you back to our hotel and Traverse City in the future so you may experience our service and new hotel amenities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Acme
0.1 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Acme – Traverse City
5.3 mi away
West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort
3.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus Four Seasons
BEST WESTERN Plus Four Seasons
#2 of 40 in Traverse City
4.5 of 5 stars 201 reviews
1.8 mi away
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
#3 of 40 in Traverse City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,398 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Traverse City
Hampton Inn Traverse City
#9 of 40 in Traverse City
4.0 of 5 stars 611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Acme-Traverse City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Acme-Traverse City

Property: Holiday Inn Express Acme-Traverse City
Address: 3536 Mount Hope Road, PO Box 177, Acme, MI 49610
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Acme
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Acme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Acme-Traverse City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 5 miles from Cherry Capital Airport and Downtown Traverse City, the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites of Traverse City is your best choice in Traverse City. You ll find the things that are most important whether you re here for business or pleasure. Whether you re coming to Traverse City for business or just for fun, your room at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites of Traverse City is your personal retreat. Amenities such as high-speed internet, plush towels, and luxurious bedding mean every night is a great night. And start each great day with our Express Start Hot breakfast as well as our 24 hour coffee service. You can take a dip in our recently re-surfaced indoor pool and spa, as well as enjoy our workout room with a spectacular view of our countryside. And when it s time to dine you can choose from an eclectic group of area restaurants. The best of Traverse City is waiting for you at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites of Traverse City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, IHG, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Acme-Traverse City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Acme-Traverse City Hotel Acme
Holiday Inn Acme
Acme Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Acme-Traverse City Grand Traverse County, MI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing