We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A favorite”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Star of the Sea Hostel
Reviewed September 15, 2011

We stayed 4 days with my son and his girl friend. A great place. Good vibes in the building, Considerate guests in the kitchen. The staff was excellent. The star of the show is the beach across the road and down a long path. Good surf and sand. And fishing if you're into it.

Bikes were fine for transportation. The island has few hills and drivers were the most considerate of any place I've been.

If you like hostels, give it a try.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Onedan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (32)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

29 - 32 of 32 reviews

Reviewed August 2, 2010

I recently stayed for 2 nights at the Star of the Sea Hostel. I was pleasantly surprised by the stay. The hostel is on a quiet street surrounded by a nice landscape, and is right across the street from beautiful and quiet Surfside Beach. It's about 3 miles from town, but if you don't have a bike you can take a taxi ($14 from town), or a $2 bus ride (the buses only run from around 10am-6pm).

The hostel is clean and everyone was friendly, and sheets, bath, and beach towels are all provided. The women's dorm has 20 beds, a mix of bunk beds & single beds. The bathroom has 3 shower stalls and 3 sinks. There are small lockers to lock your valuables (like purses/wallets), but they are not big enough for luggage, which is just left out in the room. The hostel is open all day and guests are free to come and go as they like. There is a common room with a computer and where a simple breakfast is served in the morning (coffee, tea, oatmeal, granola, yogurt, toast). There is a small room off of this for reading or for playing provided board games, and chairs and picnic tables outside. I don't think the hostel is air conditioned, but there are fans and it was very comfortable during our stay.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chestnut683
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2010

I stayed 3 nights at this hostel, it is a converted historic lifesaving station 3.5 miles from downtown Nantucket at Surfside beach. We only used bikes for transportation, and getting there from the ferry on the bike path was not a problem. Our group of 16 cooked our own meals daily, but the hostel staff does provide a very basic breakfast each morning, and separate areas to store your personal food in the kitchen. The place was very clean and well kept, the staff friendly and knowledgeable. My only complaint is that there is no private dressing area. Bathrooms clean and roomy, with 4 shower stalls in the women's. Sheets, blankets, towels, pillows even beach towels are all provided by the hostel. There are separate men's and women's dorms with both bunks and single beds, plus a 5-bed family (or co-ed) room. There are lockers available to store valuables. There are picnic tables and a volleyball court outside. The path to the beach is directly across the street. Highly recommend for basic lodging needs on the island.

  • Stayed: June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank calico66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2008

I have stayed at the hostel several times with the Girl Scouts and it is truly a hidden gem. There are 2 buildings: one larger main building with dorm style beds and another smaller one with fewer beds and also accomodation for a family. The main building has a large kitchen , large dining room/common area and smaller room for quiet reading, etc. Outside are picnic tables and a nice large yard to relax or play in. Plenty of bike racks to accomodate those arriving by rented bikes. Best of all is the place is a short walk from Surfside beach. At night, with the windows open, you can hear the ocean and see the light from the nearby lighthouse. Incredibly relaxing and refreshing.
You can bring your own food to store and prepare in the kitchen. Or, grab a taxi and head downtown to the restaurants.
Be aware that they will most likely ask you to do a small housekeeping chore before you checkout. But it's a small price to pay in exchange for spending the night within the sounds of crashing waves on Nantucket. Grab your bike and go!

  • Stayed: September 2003
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank greenmonstah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nantucket hotels
1.9 mi away
Nantucket Inn
Nantucket Inn
#8 of 14 in Nantucket
288 reviews
2.8 mi away
Jared Coffin House
Jared Coffin House
#11 of 14 in Nantucket
259 reviews
2.8 mi away
21 Broad Hotel
21 Broad Hotel
#5 of 14 in Nantucket
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
White Elephant
White Elephant
#6 of 14 in Nantucket
460 reviews
2.6 mi away
76 Main
76 Main
#4 of 14 in Nantucket
285 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Beachside
The Beachside
#12 of 14 in Nantucket
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Star of the Sea Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Star of the Sea Hostel

Address: 31 Western Ave, Surfside, Nantucket, MA 02554-4408
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Nantucket
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Nantucket
Price Range: $42 - $90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Star of the Sea Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostel was built in 1873 as Nantucket's first life-saving station, the 'Star of the Sea', so of ocourse, it is located right on the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Star of the Sea Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Star Of The Sea Hotel Nantucket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing