We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Epic Fish sandwich.”
Review of Tavern

Tavern
Ranked #41 of 141 Restaurants in Nantucket
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Hendersonville, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Epic Fish sandwich.”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We enjoyed lunch in their outdoor dining area. Friendly waitress and very clean surroundings. We will go again when we visit Nantucket again.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rachel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    103
    54
    16
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Carver, Massachusetts, United States
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“nice location, average food”
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Had been looking forward to a lobster roll all weekend and thought I might find it here, not so much. It was ok, but nothing special. My husband got a burger, which he said was excellent. Their fries were nothing great, and not a fan of the coleslaw, both of which had to be purchased as sides because the $18 lobster roll only came with chips. kind of dissapointing, but not a bad spot to people watch if you are waiting for the Hyline ferry.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Annmarie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amesbury, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Average at best”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Was recommended to us by the cab driver , although we were seated right away and the wait staff was accomodating. The quality of the food was average at best and i think the pricing is a little high for pub food - but i guess that is to be expected in a tourist place. When all was said and done for two burgers, fish sandwich and hot dog and drinks we paid $78. It was close to the ferry and convenient, but i doubt i would go back

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank massmom2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Stunning Island, Great Town but AVERAGE Restaurant...”
Reviewed October 3, 2012 via mobile

We took a day trip to Nantucket with our friends who were visiting from Australia. A local told us the perfect way to spend the day would be to have lunch at the Cru and then drive down to Sconset for a walk along The Bluff path...   

Unfortunately, it was Wednesday and as its the end of the season - the 'Cru' was closed (now only open Thu-Sun). As time was short, we wanted to find another place where we could have lunch close by. The Tavern looked nice - it was reasonably busy and the menu had exactly what we wanted. The five of us chose Lobster Rolls (x3), Calamari and a Mahi Mahi.

On a positive note, the Calamari was very nice. On a less positive note though - the Mahi Mahi was over-cooked and dry. By the way, a few mixed green leaves DOES NOT constitute a 'Bed of Salad'. Worse still, the rolls were tiny and we couldnt tast the lobster for mayonnaise. This was very disappointing - especially for our visitors from Australia.

The service provided by Mollie was friendly and functional.

As it was the end of the season - I got the impression this place was just going through the motions.. mediocre food for passing tourists..   

Good points - Location & a (surprisingly) well priced menu
Bad points - Mediocre food

At least the post-lunch walk along The Bluff footpath was nice...next time we will have to make sure we visit between Thu-Sun when the Cru is open...!

Helpful?
Thank ivan i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice place for lunch”
Reviewed September 11, 2012 via mobile

We both had fish sandwiches the food was good. It's close to the ferry, you could do slot worse than this place

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Donb1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing