We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful historic stay”
Review of The Roberts House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Roberts House
Ranked #19 of 38 Nantucket B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Nothing more can be said for the island of Nantucket other than a true gem! you step back in time in this quaint town. The Roberts House Inn, plays right along with that quaintness! Beautiful remarkable home that now acts as a hotel riight off one of the main areas. Impeccable cleanliness, charming large room with high four poster beds. The staff were very helpful and accommodating. I would hilly recommend this to anyone staying in Nantucket.

Room Tip: We stayed on the main floor, right across from the lobby desk, I was a little apprehensive at first...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nancy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (123)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 123 reviews

Reviewed October 22, 2013

When got in on a late ferry and the room we had booked had not been cleaned. The woman at the desk was as horrified as we were and promptly switched us into a different room. They were so accommodating about this I really can't hold it against them. The room we ended up in was in the new Gate House, which is lovely. Lots of Nantucket charm, without the dustiness, clutter and thin walls of more traditional inns on the island. It's clean and modern but still home-y and comfortable. The towels and sheets were the softest I've ever felt. That alone makes it worth the trip. It took us some serious motivation to even leave the room each morning!
A continental breakfast came with the room, but when we made our way down to the breakfast room halfway through the available times it was well picked over. We could barely piece together a few pastries and half a cup of tea. The banana bread was delicious, but definitely not enough. The second morning we set an alarm (ouch!) to get down to breakfast earlier and it paid off. We had our choice of bagels, juice, yogurt and full cups of tea and coffee! Nantucket is not an inexpensive place to visit, so depending a few perks like free breakfast help make it doable and are certainly a part of my decision-making process. If you go to the Roberts wake up early for breakfast!

Room Tip: The Gate House was wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank libertybells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Booked rooms here to attend my son's wedding here on Nantucket. Several other family and friends also stayed in various parts of this wonderful property. Our first room was less than stellar (we were not told we would be sharing a bathroom). The staff was more than accomodating and moved our room to the main house and first floor. They have a great breakfast with freshly made muffins and breads. Great location for walking the town and shopping. Be sure to try Black Eyed Susan for a heartier breakfast. We had dinner at Met on Main that features live music on Saturdays.

Room Tip: The top floor was a bit difficult to negotiate with large bags and a knee replacement. This is not r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maryellen0718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Stayed here for one night on a quick first trip to Nantucket. The location was very good as everything was within walking distance in town. It's not fancy, but clean and the staff is friendly and attentive as needed. There are bike racks around back and a nice porch to relax on; continental breakfast is downstairs and can be carried to the porch on a nice day. The room was nice and not small from my perspective and the rate was reasonable. Glad I stayed here rather than one of the outer pricey spots I saw.

Room Tip: Stairs are steep so if you can't handle that, book a room on a lower floor. I enjoyed the walk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vhbeck84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We stayed 5 nights in the new Gate House. Rooms are beautifully decorated. Very comfortable beds. One warning though. The standard king rooms are very small with no place to put your clothes other than the hanging space. Closet has refrig on floor so no space there. No where in room to open suitcase except on bed or inside the doorway. Hotel says they will address this issue in off season. The deluxe king room does have more room with 2 bedside tables with 2 big, deep drawers each. This building has only been open about 1 month so I am confident some adjustments will be made. Staff is very friendly. Courtyard is beautiful spot to eat continental breakfast and to enjoy anytime of the day. Great location!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

For some reason, when I booked this room, they asked what time I wanted to check in. I asked to check in at noon and the booking was accepted. When we tried to check in around 12:30, we were told our room wasn't ready and we could only check in at 3pm. What's the point of accepting check in request times but not accommodating them? Our room was tiny with no AC. Our bathroom was down a hall and you needed a key to get in, annoying!! Service was pretty blah, they weren't very friendly. Good location in town.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cassiebo123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

location is great, but it is also part of its downfall. I am not sleeping beauty , but the 5:50 am garbage pick up out side the window and some one cleaning with a blower is not good. The other guest commented at breakfast. There are also renovations going on next door , not their fault , so workers started early. If you would like to sleep in , you might like to stay some were else.
The room was good, service good, breakfast was a bit basic. But you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ozzytr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nantucket hotels
0.3 mi away
White Elephant
White Elephant
#6 of 14 in Nantucket
455 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jared Coffin House
Jared Coffin House
#10 of 14 in Nantucket
256 reviews
0.1 mi away
21 Broad Hotel
21 Broad Hotel
#5 of 14 in Nantucket
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
76 Main
76 Main
#4 of 14 in Nantucket
279 reviews
2.5 mi away
Nantucket Inn
Nantucket Inn
#8 of 14 in Nantucket
284 reviews
6.2 mi away
The Wauwinet
The Wauwinet
#9 of 14 in Nantucket
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Roberts House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Roberts House

Address: 11 India St, Nantucket, MA 02554-3519
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Nantucket
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Nantucket
Price Range: $130 - $628 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Roberts House 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Roberts House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roberts House Hotel Nantucket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing