We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable place to stay and good location, but just average.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Roberts House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Roberts House
Ranked #19 of 39 Nantucket B&B and Inns
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
150 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Comfortable place to stay and good location, but just average.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2012

Roberts House is clean and comfortable, but it is certainly not spacious or luxurious. It is a converted home, so the rooms vary a great deal in size and comfort. You need to check out the particular room that you are renting. The location is right down town and within walking distance to all downtown stores and attractions.

Room Tip: First floor rooms are the most spacious and comfortable. Talk to the manager when you book. Noise i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bedrock1831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    44
    19
    8
    6
See reviews for
23
51
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2012

We stayed in a room on the first floor that the manager said was in need of updating and she was right. We stayed there because the rooms upstairs all had beds that you needed a two step ladder to climb into and they were not suitable. Nor did any of the descriptions on line speak about this. Nor did the manager mention it when we were deciding by email what room to book. The bathroom of the room we stayed in had a sink that was about 4" by 8" and really difficult to use. Breakfast was ok and the afternoon tea was a plate of cookies. I knew more than the manager what restaurants were open; she was chatty (too chatty?) and pleasant but not terribly efficient or knowledgeable. The Centerboard for us next time!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rabddoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2011

Accommodations under $250-300/night are tough to come by on Nantucket, so I was delighted to find Roberts House Inn, where the most expensive room is $150/night, after some serious research online. The room wasn't luxe by any stretch, but met/exceeded my expectations for what we paid. The room furnishing and en suite bath were on the older side of things, but well kept and clean. I wouldn't count on the continental breakfast for your morning meal, however. The coffee was good, as were some of the pastries, but the selection was otherwise lean.
If you're okay with basic accommodation in the heart of Nantucket Town, I'd recommend Roberts House.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank emily617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Ma
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2011

Went here for our 20th Anniv. long weekend. Had a very nice room on the first floor Rm 103. It was a King bed. We liked the room over all. The desk help was very nice as well. Would return. Keep in mind that theyt are going to start renovation soon. I would inquire before booking between Dec and Aug 2012.

Room Tip: Upper floor have a narrow stair case
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JDBWakefiled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

You can't beat the price and you can't beat the location. Practically in the middle of everything, but they had no suggestions for dining or activities?! We will stay there again next year because of the price and location, but we won't expect much for service.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gw54321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonita Springs, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2011

We stayed in the Manor House and our room smelled musty. The breakfasts were minimal and they didn't even offer juice. Bring your own shampoo because they don't provide any which is usually provided at every B & B, hotel chain. I think we'll try a new place next year.

Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank kate z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2011

The inn was old and the bed was VERY, very squeaky. Also, the continental breakfast was minimal and of the quality of a cheap chain hotel. Also, on a rainy day, there was not a comfortable place to sit and play cards in the Inn. I will not return to this inn, especially considering the very high price.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnaGF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nantucket hotels
0.1 mi away
76 Main
76 Main
#3 of 13 in Nantucket
5.0 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jared Coffin House
Jared Coffin House
#8 of 13 in Nantucket
4.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
0.2 mi away
White Elephant Village | Residences & Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Nantucket Inn
Nantucket Inn
#6 of 13 in Nantucket
4.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
0.2 mi away
Union Street Inn
Union Street Inn
#2 of 13 in Nantucket
5.0 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
0.1 mi away
21 Broad Hotel
21 Broad Hotel
#4 of 39 in Nantucket
5.0 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Roberts House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Roberts House

Property: The Roberts House
Address: 11 India St, Nantucket, MA 02554-3519
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Nantucket
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Nantucket
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Roberts House 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Roberts House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roberts House Hotel Nantucket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing