We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You could probably do better, you could certainly do worse”

Brotherhood of Thieves
Ranked #8 of 141 Restaurants in Nantucket
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Auburn, Maine
Level 6 Contributor
233 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
“You could probably do better, you could certainly do worse”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

We ate here on a day trip to Nantucket. Menu with a fair number of burger and seafood choices. Extensive beer menu, including several on tap options, including some local ones (beware though, my relatively small draft beer cost $8). I had the bleu cheese burger, which was a bit overwhelmed by the cheese, but otherwise well cooked and I enjoyed the fries. Service was the friendliest we've had in our time in the Cape Cod area. Unfortunately the place is located in a kind of dark, cellar-like place, and a bit off the main drag, so you don't get to take advantage of the beautiful island location or people watching quite as much as at some other options.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CourtneyMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

919 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    298
    377
    160
    51
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Some Things Stay the Same”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Looking for a bar downtown? The Brotherhood, as we used to call it, has been here for a long time and seems to have a neighborhood feel even with all the tourists. Always a decent place to land.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank KathyinATX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, Maine
Level 6 Contributor
252 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
“Good food, good service”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We had a very good experience at Brotherhood of Thieves for a late lunch. We were greeted and seated immediately, and found our server to be exceptionally friendly and attentive. We had a couple of burgers, which, along with the curly fries, were quite tasty and generously proportioned. The ambiance is cellar-like, so if you're looking for sunny outdoor seating, head elsewhere. Prices were perfectly reasonably by Nantucket standards. Overall it was an above-average experience and I would gladly return and recommend it to others.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MaineScott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Babylon, New York
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Adequate Food; Server was Disappointment”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

My boyfriend and I visited this restaurant several years ago....was so-so at the time but we thought we would give it another try. We came by on 5/27 for dinner. We had a wait of about 25 minutes to be seated. We were given a very limited menu because Figawi (a yearly boat race) weekend was concluding. I wanted the Crab Cake Burger but the server said they were preparing them but they won't be ready yet. I ended up getting the Sea Scallops w/Fries and my boyfriend ordered the Cod Dinner, which came with mashed potatoes and asparagus. We both also ordered the chowder. My boyfriend's 2 drinks were $10 apiece. When the Cod dinner arrived my boyfriend told the server the cod was way too salty. Shortly afterward he delivered another order of cod to the table. I was growing restless and was very disappointed in the server when I heard him tell another table what the night's specials were. Huh? He never told us anything. At this point, I just wanted to leave. We took our food back to where we were staying and got the heck out of there. We went to this place because we found it convenient one night but we plan to never be back.......dining here twice was more than enough.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank nydeb413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“oldest Bar but re-built in 1999”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Good, but not amazing, seems to lost much of its original charm...good basic pub fare, as everywhere on the island, excellent clam chowder...

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank nancydrew2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brotherhood of Thieves also viewed

 

Been to Brotherhood of Thieves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing