We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good atmosphere, so so food”

Brotherhood of Thieves
Ranked #8 of 141 Restaurants in Nantucket
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar scene, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
georgia
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good atmosphere, so so food”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

I called to order take out from this restaurant, and was told by an annoyed employee that they couldn't just make substitutions, despite the fact that the substitution I requested was listed on their menu (I wanted a chicken sandwich instead of burger and chicken was listed as an available substitution). After I read the employee his own menu, he agreed to accept my order.

I also ordered fried pickles.

When I went to pick up the food from the bar, I noticed a hip vibe and homey atmosphere. It looked like it would be a fun place to dine in.

However, when I got back to my hotel with the food, I found the pickles to be bland and the batter more cakey than I would like. There was no dipping sauce for the pickles, and I only ate 3 before throwing them away. The sandwich that I ordered did come with the correct substitution and I found it to be good.

While my experience with the employee's lack of knowledge of his own menu was not good, I found the food to be priced reasonably for the quality. It was 'pub fare' and not particularly memorable, but I've definitely had much worse.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank localala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

937 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    304
    384
    164
    52
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good, casual lunch”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

A definite bar/pub atmosphere that is acoustically-challenged making sound resonate loudly in every area. If you don't mind noise then you'll be comfortable...if you're looking for a quiet experience don't try it here, you'll be overwhelmed!

Their Cisco beer-battered fish was GREAT! You get a huge portion of fish. They came with a large side of curly fries that were partly typical frozen curly fries, but did have a coating on the outside that gave them an interesting twist. The Quahog chowder was very yummy, rich and creamy.

My husband was a bit disturbed with all the dust and cobwebs hanging around the booths and the ceiling, and the bathroom was VERY tiny and bit smelly. But overall I didn't feel uncomfortable or grossed out...the table was clean when we sat down.

Overall a good experience for a casual lunch.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great food for the money”
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Brotherhood is known to be a better value than many other restaurants on Nantucket. As a foodie, I used to stay away but went for lunch last summer and it was excellent! I was so surprised and pleased! Definitely a 'pub' feel, great for the younger crowd (20's/30's).

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank nancy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mass
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“LOVED THIS PLACE”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Loved the name to begin with and then we had the best chicken wings ever and really great beer. We were only in town for a couple of days but so glad we made it here. I think if it wasn't almost the last place we ate at I would have gone again for more food.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank wildbirdp1800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, New Hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great fireplace seat...”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

We had fantastic potato soup and the best mushroom burgers ever. You walk downstairs into a dark, warm, cozy, friendly establishment with a lit fireplace. Food was terrific. Very nice bar area. we got seated right away but the place filled up within minutes. Waitress knew the area well and was pleasant to speak with.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank LadybugNH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brotherhood of Thieves also viewed

 
Nantucket, MA
 

Been to Brotherhood of Thieves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing