We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Head Straight to Straight Wharf”
Review of Straight Wharf

Straight Wharf
Ranked #14 of 141 Restaurants in Nantucket
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $50 - $100
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Scenic view, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: End of Main Street
boston, mass.
Level 6 Contributor
227 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Head Straight to Straight Wharf”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

This was a perfect restaurant choice for our group of seven women celebrating their milestone birthdays; however, it would be a perfect choice for a couple romantically celebrating a milestone event as well. The island of Nantucket is rather casual and yet, in spite of the "fancy casual" dress of the diners, this was a most elegant evening. Food choices from appetizer to dessert were varied and innovative. Each of our meals was quite good. In spite of the large group we presented, our waiter was adept at managing specific requests and the support wait staff was attentive to all needs. Although summer is typically the busiest time in Nantucket, September proved to be quite crowded on this beautiful week-end. In spite of the numbers of diners, we had good attention and food was well prepared and delivered promptly.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank aliceann1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    184
    70
    22
    17
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Westboro
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“WHAT HAPPENED?”
Reviewed September 2, 2012

As other reviewers have stated, this used to be an island favorite for us. Had dinner here 2 weeks ago. What a dissapointment! Server and service was vacant. I know it was a busy in season Saturday night but isn't this the name of the game? I think to much acclaim from "the best of Boston magazine" article has swamped this restaurant. Ordered the clam bake. The chorizo was so over cooked and the potatoes so hard and over cooked made the dish almost inedible! The fluke was soupy and salty.
Could not locate the waiter who dissapeared off the floor for at least 15 minutes.Service was so bad the table net to us was begging the busy boy to serve them cocktails. Had a great table over looking the harbor, this was a plus. Will not hurry to return. Maybe spending to much time and energy getting their sister restaurant Ventuno up and running. What a disappointing evening!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kerdesigns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Best lobster roll for lunch”
Reviewed September 2, 2012

After having lobster rolls all over Nantucket the one at Straight Wharf was by far the best. Great with their cold Rose wine. The fried clams were awesome too!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Ruth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monmouth Beach, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Try the bar menu at the Straight Wharf”
Reviewed August 30, 2012

We were looking for a lighter meal, so had dinner at the bar side of the Straight Wharf. The bistro menu was great - tapatillos were excellent as were the shrimp. Sat outside by the harbour on a beautiful night. The restaurant looked great too and would definitely like to try on our next visit.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank GMM0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great location on the water”
Reviewed August 30, 2012 via mobile

Great on the water location. I've been here many times over the years. Never disappointed. There were three of us for dinner. One had the lobster special, one scallop dish and one Nantucket Fluke, All were great. We had a great table and great service. Will definitely come back next year.

Helpful?
1 Thank Flip-Ohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Straight Wharf also viewed

Nantucket, MA
Nantucket, MA
 

Been to Straight Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing