We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to get a sandwich in town.”
Review of Provisions

Provisions
Ranked #38 of 142 Restaurants in Nantucket
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $15
Cuisines: Diner, Delicatessen
Good for: Families with children
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Lake George, New York
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great place to get a sandwich in town.”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Very good sandwiches, muffins and coffee. Pleasant staff and very convenient location. Prices are reasonable but unfortunately they don't accept credit cards.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank NDLG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    66
    10
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great Curried Chicken”
Reviewed September 8, 2012 via mobile

Ran into plenty of cash-only businesses like this one in Nantucket which is a little off-putting these days. That aside, had a very nice curried chicken sandwich with cashews and raisins. Nice small chunks, not mush. Nice bread. Plenty of cold and hot beverages. Actually we gave up the fine dining on Nantucket after a disappointing and expensive experience but found some great sandwiches in very casual spots which actually we enjoyed more.

Helpful?
1 Thank Ann J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“They ran out of bread!”
Reviewed September 4, 2012 via mobile

Their website says their hours are "7 - 5:30 or until we run out of bread!"
They're not kidding. We got there at 3:15 on Labor Day to grab some sandwiches to take on the ferry home. We stood in line for 15 minutes. When we got to the front of the line, they told us they were out of bread. I was disappointed that they ran out of bread but I was annoyed that they let us wait in line that long before they turned us away. I mean at some point, when you grab your last loaf, don't you do the decent thing and tip off your potential customers (most of whom you can assume are killing their last previous few minutes before boarding the ferry) that if they're hungry, they should go somewhere else?
This place is crowded and slow, but their sandwiches looked good.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mcbostonrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“best sandwiches on the island”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

simply put, if you need lunch for the beach or just craving a sandwich, there is only one choice, provisions. been going there for years - they have a great selection of unique offerings and twists on conventional sandwiches. best ingredients, big portions. very affordable and convenient. can be a line, but totally worth it. turkey terrific is a must try.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Drew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantucket, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Best sandwiches on Nantucket”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Provisions offers gourmet sandwiches (try the Italian or spicy egg salad!) from their location on Straight Wharf. The place is often busy so calling in your order for pick up usually saves time and hassle.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank ACKTraveler52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Provisions also viewed

 

Been to Provisions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing