We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old Nantucket”

Ships Inn Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Ships Inn Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #16 of 140 Restaurants in Nantucket
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $48
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Nantucket
Level Contributor
81 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Old Nantucket”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

So many restaurants on Nantucket think they are in Manhattan. This is the Nantucket we all fell in love with. Charm, flowers, hospitality and wonderful food.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank johnstonstudios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    18
    7
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Yardley, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic breakfast”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Homemade everything for breakfast. Yummy, many choices from quiche to casseroles. Everything is fresh from the muffins to the juice

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Trish O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
43 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Just OK”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Went during restaurant week and had the $45, three courses special that included an appetizer, entrée and desert.
Ceaser Salads were fair but Butternut Soup was very good.

I had a Ground Buffalo meat steak of some sort with Goat Cheese. The cheese was very good but that was about it for the meat. Sides were fair.

I had Chocolate soufflé and my wife had the other choice, mine was much better.

I will say the other couple and my wife had the same $45 special except they had the scallops and all liked theirs very much.

I would not do the $45 special either jjust go off menu

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Scott237
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“one of my favorites on Nantocket”
Reviewed September 1, 2012

I have gone to this restaurant every year since they opened. Called to confirm my reservation, only to find I had the wrong night. They were very accomodating and got me in that that night. They are not on Open Table, wish they were. It would have helped with with the right night. I'm also a big fan of Open Table.
The place is very charming and the service was great. I had the softshell crab special. They are one of my favorites and were prepared just right with a wonderful lemon sauce. My wife had the Halibut. She said it was OK, good but not great. We both had the chocolate souflee, which was terrific.
Loved their wine list. Lots of choices in the $40 to $60 range. Many of the Restaurants on Nantucket have only a few moderately priced wines available and lots of higher priced bottles. Since I almost always have a bottle of wine with my meals, this just runs the cost of the meal up.

Helpful?
Thank Flip-Ohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, New Jersey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good but not great”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

I was a little disappointed with our dinner here. First, we sat downstairs and the decor really needs some work. The appitizers were good--I had the Cesar salad and my husband had lobster bisque. Our entrees were not that good. My husband had the halibut and it was a little dry. I had the duck bolognese and I just didn't really care for it. The dessert menu looked good, but we didn't order any. I won't be going back there again for dinner.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank StacyBrianSn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ships Inn Restaurant also viewed

 
Nantucket, MA
Nantucket, MA
 

Been to Ships Inn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing