We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous Dinner Just Outside The Hustle and Bustle of Town!”
Review of Seagrille

Seagrille
Ranked #9 of 140 Restaurants in Nantucket
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $18 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood, Soups, American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Connecticut
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fabulous Dinner Just Outside The Hustle and Bustle of Town!”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Homemade fettucine with lots of lobster, Wellfleet Oysters, and definitely the caramelized pear with homemade goat cheese and walnuts topped off a magnificent day on Nantucket. Interesting menu chock full of seafood as well as steak lover choices. A little far for a walk to/from town but definitely worth it if the only transportation are your feet!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank pstrode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    66
    14
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
West Orange, New Jersey
Level Contributor
71 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Superior Seafood”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

This was not our first visit to thhis restaurant. It has become an annual event to eat at Sea Grille when we are in Nantucket. The ambience, food and service are all excellent. The lobsters were DELICIOUS and oh so fresh !We will be back next summer.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank grandmamarlene5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Best Meal of the Trip”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Sea Grille was recommended by our tour guide. Unfortunetly, we waited to try it on our last day. We stopped in to have a late lunch and ordered the quahog chowder, lobster bisque, fried scallop roll, and lobster salad roll. It was withiut a doubt the best we've tasted anywhere. The server was very friendly and the food was reasonably priced. We would have come back for dinner if we were not so full.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VB_Local_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Ignorant and arrogant staff”
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Table of 5 underneath air conditioner dripped on us throughout the meal. Was served a fish dish with lobster in it as one of the ingredients despite explicitly saying I was deathly allergic to shellfish. Response from waitress, maitre d, and chef was that lobster was not shellfish and I should be able to eat it. Sent meal back again clearly stating I couldn't eat the lobster as I was allergic to it. Was served what I thought was a version of the dish without lobster. Lo and behold, it had lobster in it again! Same response - lobster is not a shellfish so you can eat it! They'll kill someone eventually with their arrogance and ignorance. Can't think of a worse experience in a restaurant ever. (I'm pushing 60 and have travelled the world).

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mom0214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
474 reviews
332 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“Excellent seafood”
Reviewed August 12, 2012

We had a later reservation (8:45) with our group of 8 on the indoor patio, and got seated right away. The menu is fabulous and hard to choose from...everything sounded so good. They even had a good selection of yummy sounding specialty drinks.

My husband had the lobster tortellini, which was outstanding! I had the shrimp, lobster, and scallop ravioli, which was also outstanding. The fresh herbs in this dish really made it pop! Everyone at the table really seemed to enjoy their meal and everything looked really good.

Service was kind of lacking. Our waitress wasn't friendly at all, never smiled, and although semi efficient, she never checked back to see if everything was OK after our meal was served. The indoor patio was lovely with a dining area and bar area, but seemed awfully hot. There didn't seem to be a breeze coming in the screened windows. Maybe ceiling fans would help.

This restaurant is about a mile outside of town, so you need a car or to take a taxi. The nice thing if you have a car, no fighting for parking like in town. We would definitely go back here for the outstanding food or a drink at the bar!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hotelsnobb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Seagrille also viewed

 
Nantucket, MA
Nantucket, MA
 

Been to Seagrille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing