We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delish!”
Review of Queequeg's

Queequeg's
Reserve with OpenTable
Queequeg's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #27 of 142 Restaurants in Nantucket
Price range: $18 - $30
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Queequeg's offers an Eclectic American Cuisine using fresh seasonal ingredients. Join us for a romantic dinner in a fun Bistro setting with an intimate bar scene. Indoor & Outdoor dinning available.
Dillon, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Delish!”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

On a recent weekend trip to Nantucket, we dined here twice. First time was a busy Friday night and we went without a reservation. The hostess was very accommodating and said that she could have a table ready in a half hour. We just happened to be on Nantucket for restaurant week and they were offering a three course dinner for $35. We opted out the first night, but thoroughly enjoyed the pan roasted mussels, beet salad, and the halibut entree. After enjoying this meal so much, we decided to go back another night. While waiting for our table, we sat at the bar for a glass of wine. The bartender was very friendly and recommended a few items we should try. This time we went for the three course meal, starting with the tuna tartar which was absolutely fabulous! Melt in your mouth good. Then the halibut, which was delicious and cooked to perfection. The only downfall is that they do not offer any options for dessert, just one per night. The bread pudding was tasty but I would've preferred something not so heavy as I was quite full. Overall a fantastic meal, great service and reasonably priced.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kukla78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    96
    40
    9
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 6 Contributor
67 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Quaint and cozy”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

We were looking for a place to eat. We wanted something special on our 1st evening in town. We were all tired after traveling for many hours. Someone noticed us looking at restaurant menus and told us that Queequeg's was a very nice place to eat and quite comfortable. They were right. As soon as I walked into the dim, candlelit restaurant with it's warm glowing colors, I knew that we had made the right choice. We were not disappointed. The menu isn't extensive, but the choices and presentations are excellent!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank RuthR655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yardley, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very nice”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

I like it here and have dinner a few time each visit to Nantucket.
The bar is friendly and a great place to have dinner if you are traveling solo. The food is good and reasonably priced.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Trish O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Largo, FL
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Top notch all the way”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We were lucky enough to try Queequegs (Kwee-kwegs) during "Restaurant Week" on Nantucket which meant we got an appetizer, entree, and dessert for $35. This is a very small restaurant so reservations are definitely recommended. There is both indoor and outdoor seating as well as seating at the bar. If your only available space is at the bar, take it! The food is well worth it.
I can highly recommend the skillet roasted PEI mussels served in a basil broth with roasted tomato. The New England Clam Chowder was also tasty with apple wood bacon giving it a wonderful flavor. All of the dishes coming out of the kitchen looked superb so it was hard to make a choice, but we both had a hankering for the NY strip. It was grilled to perfection, butter knife tender, and served thinly sliced with carmelized onions over bleu cheese and atop of a bordelaise sauce and grilled asparagus spears. The truffled frites were the best fries I have ever tasted. For dessert we both opted for the very rich chocolate banana bread served with a dollop of vanilla ice cream.
The quality of the food makes the prices worth it. Everything on Nantucket is expensive; I paid over $6 for a single scoop of ice cream in a waffle cone, so by comparison, the prices here are not exorbitant. The service was superb without being hovering. Definitely a first class establishment and an excellent chef. I will eat here anytime.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tcquilter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, CT
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Enjoyable outside dining”
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We had a great dinner for three outside on the deck on a Friday night in mid-September. Halibut, specially requested vegetarian pasta, and pasta with bolognese sauce were excellent.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank NewtoCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Queequeg's also viewed

 

Been to Queequeg's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing