We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good dining choice”
Review of Fifty-Six Union

Fifty-Six Union
Reserve with OpenTable
Fifty-Six Union is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #49 of 140 Restaurants in Nantucket
Price range: $30 - $70
Cuisines: Southwestern, American, French, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Celebrating their 17th season, Wendy and Peter Jannelle are proud of what they have created at Fifty-Six Union. The most recent addition is the outside space. Completely protected, with a full bar, the atmosphere is playful and fun. Dinner is served nightly (year-round) at 5:30 PM, offering Peter's House Specialties that include the best Curried Mussels in the World! Peter is a '78 graduate of The Culinary Institute of America. His career started by working on The Holland America Lines. Afterward he came to Nantucket and became the chef de cuisine at the now defunct India House Restaurant. This is where he met Wendy. Wendy and Peter have been on the Island since the early 80's, and have worked in some of the best kitchens and dining rooms on Nantucket. Their two sons, Andrew and Blair, have both taken turns working in the Family Business. Andrew's interest has been in the kitchen, while Blair can currently be seen behind the bar, or serving on the floor.
Lake George, New York
Level Contributor
166 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Good dining choice”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

A great woodsy interior that looks a lot like a corner tavern. We found the staff very friendly and knowledgeable. I had a wonderful chowder and steak. The beer choices and wine list are also good. Casual, comfy ambiance.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    15
    14
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Food and Ambiance”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We met some friends for dinner at Fifty-Six Union. We have eaten there a number of times and have never been disappointed. We all had a special three-course dinner, prix fixe, with wine and coffee. All six of us we very pleased with the meal. The food and presentation were impeccable, as was the service. This is a restaurant that is in touch with the demands of a discriminating clientele. We will return often.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ACK_me_nice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
97 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“pretty good dinner”
Reviewed December 17, 2012

I've always kind of liked 56 Union. Their food tends to be good and somewhat imaginative. The starters and salads seem to be their strongest dishes and the desserts their weakest. It's a well run place with a nice bar, good service and parking.

The two pieces of advice I would give them is to dim the lights a little bit and replace the chairs with something a bit more comfortable.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank islndtrvlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great meal and service”
Reviewed December 12, 2012

We stayed at union street inn and walked here for dinner, a couple of blocks. We had a reservation and were greeted and seated with a smile. Our server was attentive and knowledgeable. Our meals, Nantucket Bay scallops and steak were great. Done to perfection.
This was our first time to 56, but not our last. A great place to eat.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jfmipak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newburyport
Level Contributor
55 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Highly recommended-Didn't disappoint!”
Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

Everything about 56 Union was top notch, from the very comfortable and inviting atmosphere to the meal quality and presentation.

Curried mussels, scallops, steak frites and rack of lamb all great.... Dessert as well.

We aren't on Nantucket often, but will be sure to make this a return trip whenever we are on the island.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank needlepointer60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gottaluvItaly, Owner at Fifty-Six Union, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Thank you for trying us out and your review. I'm glad you enjoyed our Restaurant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fifty-Six Union also viewed

 

Been to Fifty-Six Union? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing