We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LUCKY us -- we went twice!”

Company of the Cauldron
Ranked #20 of 140 Restaurants in Nantucket
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $75 - $100
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Reopening Mothers Day weekend May 8h, 9th, 10th If you want to feel as if you have your own private chef, make reservations to dine at The Company of the Cauldron. Located in the heart of Nantucket's Historic District, the abundant charm of this small red building with ivy-covered windows invites you to enter. Inside the doorway massed flowers greet you on the antique bakers rack. Just beyond, tables glow softly, lit only by candles. The kitchen is open and can be seen from the dining room. Classical harp music wafts in the background three evenings of the week. Romantic ambience abounds.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
107 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“LUCKY us -- we went twice!”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

On our first visit on Wednesday evening, we had one of the most amazing first courses ever -- a spaghetti with lobster and eggplant "croutons." The fixed menu was lamb, but the restaurant kindly accommodated us and substituted halibut that was delicious. We went back on the following Monday night for their Lobster Night. Wow -- amazing courses with delicious preparation of lobster at each, except for the dessert course which was a delicious homemade donut and icecream. Amazing. Wonderful service and the noise wasn't too badl

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BeachesForFour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    31
    13
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Brewster, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
85 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Worthy of all the good reviews”
Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

This was the best of three restaurants we visited on our recent Nantucket trip. Le Lanquedoc was a close second and Oran Mor was a far third with overly salty fish and average duck.

The Cauldron was excellent in all ways- very well prepared food for all three courses with excellent service and romantic atmosphere. The room was noisy because of its size with lose table spacing.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dickcape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, VA
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Still worthy”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

This fixed menu restaurant remains a very popular and very sympatico place to dine--one is part of a carefully orchestrated performance, but an agreeable and reliably tasty one. Atmospheric, cozy, and full of noisy life. Methodical service. In the heart of Nantucket town. We have come here since it opened (and even before, in fact--nobody will remember when it was The Moby Dick). Not for young children. Two seatings, and only two.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jcnenglish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolute Perfection”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

This was one of the best meals I have ever experienced. From the time we walked in the door to the time we left, both owners (husband and wife Anderea and Al) were completely focused on providing excellent service and magnificent food. Andrea greeted each table of diners taking drink and wine orders personally. Al watched over the timing and preparation of the food. The night we dined dinner featured Paella as a first course which was the highlight of the evening. Prepared in a phyllo like surround, clams, shrimp, squid, lobster, and a bit of delicious rice completed this course. Prime rib followed prepared to perfection with a demi glace on the side.
For dessert, Vanilla crème somewhat of a crème brulee without the top, which was dreamy. The setting is intimate and cozy. We dined at 4 of the top rated restaurants in Nantucket, and by far, this was the best. Make reservations early. They fill fast and in advance!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
111 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Delectable and Dependable”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

No trip to Nantucket is complete unless we dine at Company of the Cauldron. During our recent stay, we ate there 3 nights out of 9, and my husband would make it 9 out of 9 if left to him. Over the past 5 years we've dined at C. of C. at least a dozen times, and even with the set - but well thought-out - menu I can't say we've ever had even one morsel that hasn't been excellent. Not sure how many restaurants could complete with that. Suffice it so say that if you visit Nantucket, this should definitely be on your "must eat there" list.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank skylrk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Company of the Cauldron also viewed

 

Been to Company of the Cauldron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing