We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An absolute must while your in Nantucket!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Company of the Cauldron

Company of the Cauldron
Ranked #20 of 140 Restaurants in Nantucket
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $75 - $100
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Reopening Mothers Day weekend May 8h, 9th, 10th If you want to feel as if you have your own private chef, make reservations to dine at The Company of the Cauldron. Located in the heart of Nantucket's Historic District, the abundant charm of this small red building with ivy-covered windows invites you to enter. Inside the doorway massed flowers greet you on the antique bakers rack. Just beyond, tables glow softly, lit only by candles. The kitchen is open and can be seen from the dining room. Classical harp music wafts in the background three evenings of the week. Romantic ambience abounds.
Ridgefield Park, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“An absolute must while your in Nantucket!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

This is definitely my favorite restaurant in Nantucket. The menu is set for each specific day (appetizer, dinner and dessert is the same for everyone) and a list of what they will be serving is online and posted outside the restaurant. The food is absolutely fantastic! The presentation as well as the quality of the food is amazing.The portions are very reasonable too. The place is very old fashioned and quaint. Although, it is very small place so the tables are very close together and reservations are a must!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Hailey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    31
    13
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Summit, New Jersey
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Old Nantucket feeling....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

Wonderful spot, food was great albeit small portions for the prices. We went with friends, they chose the night....menu is set and comes out a week prior so you can pick based on what you want to eat. The night we went the harp was silent which was one of the things I was
looking forward to as this was our first time here. I enjoyed every bite just wish there had been more!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MrsMth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“TLC and good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

This longstanding Nantucket restaurant in a old house manages to squeeze in about 32 diners at each of two seatings. Cost is min. $70 p/person for the carefully-prepared, three course, fixed price dinner. The menu is posted online weekly. The food is delicious. They will accommodate special food request to some extent -- e.g., fish to substitute for meat if you tell them in advance.We enjoyed being taken care of and not having to choose anything but the wine.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank homegranny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Va
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Reservations a MUST and it's worth it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

This will not be a long, dish by dish review. It's simple, make a reservation for the night you want to dine at this intimate, lively restaurant. Do not delay. We made a resv. a month in advance and am so glad we did!!! It was Lobster night (Mon.) and we had a 4 course, prix fixe, WOW experience. Each course was executed with perfection and we enjoyed every morsel. It was neat to watch as each table was served the same, delicious dish and the nods of approval. Loved this restaurant and when we revisit, we will call way in advance!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank kbgva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
110 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Nantucket at its absolute best!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

Company is our most favorite restaurant on all of Nantucket. With ultimate food, a charming and authentic "old Nantucket" vibe, lovely service, and harp music to punctuate the meal, it is sheer perfection. We have been summering on Nantucket for 39 years and have eaten everywhere. You cannot find a more wonderful experience in every way.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 226elizabethh226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Company of the Cauldron also viewed

Nantucket, MA
Nantucket, MA
 
Nantucket, MA
 

Been to Company of the Cauldron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing