We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice spot”

Centre Street Bistro
Ranked #19 of 141 Restaurants in Nantucket
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $24
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Rome
1 review
“nice spot”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Intimate space. Young waiters are very professional and they have a very tasty bread. Worth a visit during your stay

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank travellerRome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    61
    11
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Great food but hot to the point of misery!”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

My husband and I visited in July which I understand is a warm month for Nantucket. Knowing this, we called ahead to make sure the inside reservation was air-conditioned. We were assured it was. When we arrived we were seated at a corner table in a blistering hot dining room. When we brought it to the waitress's attention she very sweetly said she would try. After two more attempts and the owner telling us we could not be moved despite an empty dining room we ate our meal sweating. The food was good as far as I could tell despite the fact that I wanted to get up and run out to escape the heat... Dissappointing for an island that is supposed to be so tourist driven.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank laurakgomez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marshfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Hidden and Wonderful Gem”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

A woman at one of the shops told us about this place and even though our hotel was right next door we had over looked it. Sooo happy to get the referral because to be honest it was one of the biggest highlights of our trip. The manchego cheese plate, lobster risotto w/ swordfish and shrimp and polenta ravioli was INSANE! Go, go now!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank AmyLaney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Spectacular food in a mediocre setting”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We often get an excellent course when spending $50 per person for dinner, an exceptionally tasty appetizer, an inventive main course or a sinful desert. At this restaurant, we hit the jackpot, a fabulous goat cheese tart, a perfectly cooked beef tenderloin, an inventive 'summer' chicken and a delectable flourless chocolate desert. All spectacular. The service was attentive, and the somewhat cramped roomed enabled us to get a recommendation for the chicken from two tables away and have an interesting conversation with our neighbors.

But don't go here for the ambiance. You enter through a dreary arcade and the bench seats also serve to store boxes of water glasses with the proud SYSCO label. There must be a better place to store boxes.

Great food, very reasonably prices (for Nantucket), no ambiance. Bring your own wine. My kind of place.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“A real stand out”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

While on a day trip to Nantucket we wanted to get a delicious dinner, early in the evening to make our just after 7pm ferry, This place took reservations (which I made 2 weeks ahead) and was open early enough for us to enjoy before our trek back to the mainland.
The food was spectacular, exactly how other reviewers already mentioned, and not terribly pricey. Island prices can be high but for the quality of food and excellent service this place is not expensive at all.
I had the restaurant week 3-course dinner special which included a chilled, savory-sweet beet soup, a fillet of fish and a dessert. The first 2 courses were way above average and the strawberry tiramisu dessert ok but not bad. My husband had the soup of the day and a risotto which too were incredibly delicious. The restaurant is small and intimate which is perfect for a island like Nantucket. If you are visiting don't hesitate to visit this wonderful restaurant

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LoveTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Centre Street Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Centre Street Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing