We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional, romantic, creative”
Review of American Seasons

American Seasons
Reserve with OpenTable
American Seasons is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #21 of 142 Restaurants in Nantucket
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $50
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Reviewed November 22, 2012

As guests of the inn across the street, we wondered what the darling restaurant across the street contained, from its candlelit grotto to the intimate dining room glimmering through the windows. We changed our reservations and came here instead, and we were so glad. Our expert server guided us through courses & perfect wine pairings, from the 15-item charcuterie board to suckling pig confit and a meltingly good beef cheek with mushrooms. Even a side of brussels sprouts was noteworthy, caramelized edges tossed with pine nuts and hard cheese. The creative menu richly employs the bounty of local producers. My only regret was to not leave room for dessert.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank SophiaLena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
americanseasons, Owner at American Seasons, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2012

We are so glad you found your way across the street, & that you enjoyed your experience, We have a talented and dedicated team & so appreciate you taking the time to write this for us, Regards Mike & Orla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (319)
There are newer reviews for American Seasons
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

225 - 229 of 319 reviews

Reviewed November 10, 2012

The meal I had, duck breast on oats with hazelnuts, was one of the best meals I have every had. It is a very pricey menu but you get one of the most creative cuisines I have experienced anywhere.

Thank JanisDux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

An exquisite meal. We enjoyed the vegetarian tasting menu with wine pairings and supplemented with several selections from the appetizer portion of the menu. Our waitperson, Ieva, was knowledgeable and helpful without being intrusive. I'm already planning my next visit!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank lostboynh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
americanseasons, Owner at American Seasons, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

Thanks for taking the time to review us we greatly appreciate it and look forward to seeing you again, Mike & Orla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Had the opportunity to eat at American Seasons. The meal, from Appetizers to Dessert, was well above average. Our group of three started with Bone Marrow, Ricotta Gnudi and a special of Cod Fritters. Each was attractively plated and deliciously prepared. The same held true for the main course, two had Suckling Pig Confit and one opted for a rainbow trout special. It seems that in many fine dining restaurants, the more attractive the presentation the smaller the portion. That was certainly not a problem here. Even though we were fairly full, we managed to share several desserts that maintained the high standards of the earlier courses.

Would be remiss if I didn't point out that our server Tatiana (sp?) was both extremely attentive and cordial. Overall, we couldn't have been happier.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank km109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
americanseasons, Owner at American Seasons, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2012

You did indeed get the correct spelling of Tatiana or Tati as we call her, thank you for taking th time to write this review we greatly appreciate the kind words,

Regards Mike & Orla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Best of 3 excellent dinners on Nantucket in September 2012. The bone marrow starter is outstanding and not to be missed. The service was terrific.

Thank winston_smith_101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
americanseasons, Owner at American Seasons, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2012

Thank you for the kind words, we are very excited when someone understands what we are trying to do and enjoys their experience with us, Kindest regards Mike & Orla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed American Seasons also viewed

 

Been to American Seasons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing