We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional Dining”
Review of American Seasons

American Seasons
Reserve with OpenTable
American Seasons is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #21 of 142 Restaurants in Nantucket
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $50
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Had the opportunity to eat at American Seasons. The meal, from Appetizers to Dessert, was well above average. Our group of three started with Bone Marrow, Ricotta Gnudi and a special of Cod Fritters. Each was attractively plated and deliciously prepared. The same held true for the main course, two had Suckling Pig Confit and one opted for a rainbow trout special. It seems that in many fine dining restaurants, the more attractive the presentation the smaller the portion. That was certainly not a problem here. Even though we were fairly full, we managed to share several desserts that maintained the high standards of the earlier courses.

Would be remiss if I didn't point out that our server Tatiana (sp?) was both extremely attentive and cordial. Overall, we couldn't have been happier.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank km109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
americanseasons, Owner at American Seasons, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2012

You did indeed get the correct spelling of Tatiana or Tati as we call her, thank you for taking th time to write this review we greatly appreciate the kind words,

Regards Mike & Orla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (319)
There are newer reviews for American Seasons
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

228 - 232 of 319 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2012

Best of 3 excellent dinners on Nantucket in September 2012. The bone marrow starter is outstanding and not to be missed. The service was terrific.

Thank winston_smith_101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
americanseasons, Owner at American Seasons, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2012

Thank you for the kind words, we are very excited when someone understands what we are trying to do and enjoys their experience with us, Kindest regards Mike & Orla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

My friends and I were on the island for Restaurant Week. Our meal was delicious. I enjoyed the ribs and cod fritters and my girlfriends raved about their trout. The service was the icing on the cake. I look forward to returning next summer.

Thank Holly894
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
americanseasons, Owner at American Seasons, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2012

Thank you so much for joining us for restaurant week & we are so glad that you enjoyed your experience, our servers have generally been with us for a long time & are part of the family,

Regards Mike & Orla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

American Seasons has been around for a long time (by restaurant standards) and seems to be getting better each year. In recent years the menu selections have been slimmed down and refined and this focus on fewer dishes has had very good results. This is perhaps the most inventive menu on the island and it is accompanied by an outstanding wine list. But one key ingredient really makes the difference: an outstanding staff. Most have been around for a number of years from very diverse backgrounds and they are both knowledgeable about the menu and truly warm in their manner. One tip: the acoustics in the main dining room are rather "hard" (i.e,. loud) so the patio is a good option if you want ton have a serious conversation over dinner.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank plkmtk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
americanseasons, Owner at American Seasons, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Thank you so much for your reiew, we are aware of the terrible acoustics and depending on the customer base on any given night it is terrible or bearable, we are constantly working on it and hope someday to crack it, but this old building seems to be working against us, many regards & thank you, Mike & Orla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We live here, and this is THE place to dine. There is simply nothing more to say. The food combinations are always interesting and unusual--and absolutely delicious. Friendly, helpful staff.

Thank Quidnet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
americanseasons, Owner at American Seasons, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Thank you so much we so appreciate your support, Mike & Orla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed American Seasons also viewed

 

Been to American Seasons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing