We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“always a great place to experience excellent food”
Review of American Seasons

American Seasons
Reserve with OpenTable
American Seasons is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #21 of 142 Restaurants in Nantucket
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $50
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Reviewed September 16, 2012

the menu is unique, the flavors on each dish are vastly different yet complimentary and intrigue the palete.
The experience of dining at American Seasons is consistenly good and I go each visit to Nantucket. I like the ambiance too.

Thank JackieP4291
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
americanseasons, Owner at American Seasons, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2012

Thank you so much, contrary to many of the reviews we do try very hard to make eeryone happy wih our food and service, Regards Orla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (320)
There are newer reviews for American Seasons
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

235 - 239 of 320 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2012

First time in Nantucket. Tried Am. Seasons, at hotel suggestion. Waitstaff was nice, but young and rather full of herself as an authority on food,drink. The prices were very high and while the food was tasty, there was VERY litte of it--i had the duck--TWO small peices onthe plate...not enough to feed a child. VERY disappointed. Not sure what the chef is thinking here. The same thing happened to my partner and to the folks sitting across from us---we met up with them after the meal and they said one of them had scallops--got TWO scallops on her plate. She complained but nothing was done. Our dinner was 200 bucks. Not worth the money. The food was ok. Wine list is good. But stay away from this place.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank DrDANT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
americanseasons, Owner at American Seasons, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2012

We are very sorry that you did not enjoy your experience with us.

Our waitstaff are expected by Mike & I to know everything that we are serving we are sorry that this offended you.

Our Prices by comparison on Nantucket are not even close to being in the top 50 % of the highest prices.

The Duck dish that you felt was to small is an entire side of muscovy duck so we apologise if this was not enough for you & wish you had relayed this to your server.

The Friends that were sitting beside you, had an Appetizer portion of scallops and the scallop size is U10 dayboat scallops which would be in most restaurant serving fresh not frozen food a reasonable portion for an appetizer,

Again we apologise that you did not enjoy your time with us, Regards Orla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Had dinner this past Saturday with three other couples....8:30pm reservation....seated us promptly....HOWEVER....menu was very expensive as expected and very limited choices on entrees (if you don't like Rib Eye, Pork Belly and Salmon - you won't have fun here), but appetizers were fine. The atmosphere is pitch black (what are they trying to hide?) and service really s$%cked. Long long waits for everything. To top it off, the waitress imposed a mandatory 20% service charge on meal AND tax and when we went to pay evenly with three credit cards she took the time to itemize that tip charge on each of our charge receipts. We were only a party of six late at night with only one table left. They should have been glad we were still there.

I would have raised a stink with the waitress, but we were with two other couples trying to enjoy a Saturday night on Nantucket. We'll come back to Nantucket but never this place. For the ownership, whatever you do with food does not compare with what you do with service.....take a lesson. We felt genuinely ripped off.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank 975GaryJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
americanseasons, Owner at American Seasons, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2012

Thank you for letting us know that you had a service issus on Saturday Night, this was a busy evening and we are sorry to hear that you were unhappy with your service.

Our Gratuity is included on a party of 5 or more this is indicated on the Menu, however if that is not something you are comfortable with and had indicated this to us we would have left the gratuity off. We write in the spllit gratutiy as customers have requested over the years that they appreciate this.

We understand that our menu is not to everyones taste, but on Nantucket there are a wide number of options so we are comefortable serving the menu we offer, but will take your review under advisement, thank you for your input.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

I am a year-round Nantucketer and seriously obsessed food writer. Please believe me when I tell you this place is the real deal. Make a reservation and prepare to have a food experience. For those who want to try a little of everything, ask for the Small Plates menu. It's very inexpensive and available only in the shoulder season, or at the bar in the summertime. You can even mix it up with a couple of starters from the dinner menu ...it's just too difficult to choose when every dish is stellar. American Seasons is a star! Five stars actually.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank NantucketFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012 via mobile

Inventive, fresh ingredients make this my top find on Nantucket. Wonderful cocktails (try the lavender martini)- service is attentive without pretense. The cream cheese ice cream was incredible! Book early- reservations are tough to come by!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Teachct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed American Seasons also viewed

 

Been to American Seasons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing