We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great food”
Review of Dune

Dune
Ranked #2 of 141 Restaurants in Nantucket
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $45 - $65
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Between Federal and Centre
Description: Dune, new to Nantucket in 2009, is a creation of Michael Getter, formerly of 21 Federal and American Seasons restaurants. The décor in our three distinct dining rooms is a blend of sophisticated elegance and soothing comfort. Along with our exotic quartzite bar and charming patio we offer an extensive selection of handcrafted cocktails, wines, spirits and cordials along with offering full lunch, dinner and dessert menus. The ever changing menu showcases an innovative selection of the finest in seasonal local produce, fish and meats from regional farms and select purveyors. During the summer season we serve lunch and dinner daily. Bar opens at 5:00pm every day.
Glenview, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“great food”
Reviewed July 15, 2014

Charming palce. We ate outside and it was very nice. the waiter told us about the specails and then left when he came bak for our order he was out of the appetizer we REALLY wanted! We ordered soft shell crab appetizer, mozzarella and tomato appetizer, fluke and tuna entrees. There were 4 of us. Our waiter then came back and told us they now had the tuna tartare appetizer we wanted. We had been served our meal but ordered it anyway. It was outstanding but we had too much food and felt the waiter could have done a better job for us.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank specsb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    325
    140
    52
    15
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“Great spot for lunch”
Reviewed July 13, 2014

We dined at Dune for lunch over the July 4th long weekend. Very cute little restaurant with outdoor patio as well (thought the inside was nicer) We had the duck confit salad, roasted beet and goat cheese salad and the fish tacos....all great. What I really liked was they had really affordable wines for lunch. For example we had a lovely Pinot Blanc for $28 bottle. As a comparison, my very favorite place we had lunch, Cru, down on the water - their least expensive white wine on the entire menu was $68! So as a sommelier myself I find those sorts of little things important. Dune is a great (off water) trendy lunch spot that won't break the bank. I personally would save dinner reservations for The Pearl, American Seasons and Ventuno and do Dune for lunch vs. dinner.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelkicks2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Food good service lacking”
Reviewed July 2, 2014

Our meal was good we sat on the patio which was wonderful except the service was very slow and inattentive . Hoping they were short staffed if not they need to put another waiter to help out.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Buddy2251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Excellent Food, Quaint Indoor Space”
Reviewed July 1, 2014

Most certainly Dune is one of the better restaurants on Nantucket. Centrally located, just a 2 minute walk (0.1 mile) north of Main Street.
We had made a reservation using Open Table and requested a quite romantic table for 7:30 PM. When we arrived we were escorted to the outdoor area towards the back of the building. The area is covered by a tent and there were families with children. We were ready to depart, as this was not a quite romantic table, the area was noisy, cobbled stone floor, and covered by a tent. We asked to be moved indoors. Good thing they had a table available for us inside. When we asked the maitre d' if he got our request via Open Table for a quite romantic table, he said yes. When asked why the request was not honoured even though there was a table open inside, he shrugged his shoulders. The impression we got was that unless you specifically ask (possibly demand), you do not get a table inside. This appears to be as there is little table space inside and almost twice as much outside under the tent.
Once we got over the seating/table fiasco; it was a wonderful night. The waitress was prompt and attentive, the food excellent and the atmosphere exactly what we were looking for.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ulwazi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“small but, very good”
Reviewed June 29, 2014

Excellent service, food was delicious and they have options for children. Space is a bit small but, worth a visit.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank joyandlaughter1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dune also viewed

 

Been to Dune? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing