We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dune oh Dune, where have you been all my life?”
Review of Dune

Dune
Ranked #2 of 141 Restaurants in Nantucket
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $45 - $65
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Between Federal and Centre
Description: Dune, new to Nantucket in 2009, is a creation of Michael Getter, formerly of 21 Federal and American Seasons restaurants. The décor in our three distinct dining rooms is a blend of sophisticated elegance and soothing comfort. Along with our exotic quartzite bar and charming patio we offer an extensive selection of handcrafted cocktails, wines, spirits and cordials along with offering full lunch, dinner and dessert menus. The ever changing menu showcases an innovative selection of the finest in seasonal local produce, fish and meats from regional farms and select purveyors. During the summer season we serve lunch and dinner daily. Bar opens at 5:00pm every day.
Baltimore, MD
Level Contributor
76 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Dune oh Dune, where have you been all my life?”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Dune oh Dune, where have you been all my life? We have been coming to Nantucket for years and thought we would try Dune for the first time. Wow, this was so great for food, service and atmosphere! Yes, we are talking right up there with the other top restaurants on the island! The swordfish and the steak were fantastic. The dessert, a chocolate sampler kind of thing, was the best we have had ANYWHERE! Go there; you won't be sorry!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rgpinkham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    308
    134
    51
    15
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food and great staff”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Sit outside and enjoy the lovely night air. The menu is upscale American and really creative. Leave room for dessert!!!!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sally W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, Delaware
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent dinner in Nantucket.”
Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

Excellent food. The Fluke fish was perfect. Service was great. We ate outside in the more casual area - nice atmosphere. No local wines but decent wine list. Highly recommend it.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TJCubby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, Connecticut
Level Contributor
143 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

We ate on the patio so we cannot comment on the decor of the restaurant. The patio under the awning was cozy and although you could not say it was scenic in the typical way, looking up at Nantucket houses and the quaint street was scenic to us.There was no shortage of staff nor attention. We had a great salad followed by the chicken dish which was great and nicely presented. Tjere are so many nice restaurants in Nantucket but this was probably the best dinner of the 4 nights we spent on Nantucket.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kronberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
114 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Outstanding fish and steak!”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

This restaurant was recommended to us by the management at our inn. We were hesitant and wanted to visit an trusted favorite of ours but glad we gave it a try! Our fish and steak were perfect, the atmosphere was warm, clean, and fresh. Our server wasn't overly friendly but did check in often to make sure we were doing ok. This is a great restaurant for a romantic evening.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank HB_and_CE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dune also viewed

Nantucket, MA
Nantucket, MA
 

Been to Dune? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing