We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but pricey”
Review of Ventuno

Ventuno
Ranked #11 of 141 Restaurants in Nantucket
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Main
Description: Ventuno is an island restaurant inspired by the frascas of Italy, small farmhouses which opened themselves up to friends and neighbors with wine and homemade food. Executive Chefs Gabriel Frasca and Amanda Lydon, with Chef De Cuisine Andrea Solimeo, delight in imagining Nantucket shellfish, fish and produce in Italian hands. House-cut pasta and simple takes on the bounty of sea and land are complemented by a carefully curated Italian wine list. Drink and eat our entire menu on either dining room floor or bar, or the open-air back bar, with comfortable service and the inviting breeze of the ocean.
Westchester County, New York
Level Contributor
178 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Good but pricey”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Food is good. Ambiance and acoustics need help. Restaurant is too noisy and they play the wrong kind of music and they play it loudly. Ate at 6 restaurants during my recent stay. This was the most expensive and least favorite.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WestchesterP2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    63
    17
    12
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
54 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“YUM!”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

On our last night we ate here. Loved the atmosphere here! The server was nice, a bit slow, but very cordial, as was all the staff here. We were not rushed at all and were seated in a cute private table for 2. The meals were excellent, but not plentiful. I had the risotto and my husband had tortellini. As typical for Nantucket, food is expensive for the portions that you get, but it was very tasty. I wouldn't hesitate to go here again!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank fishtrop98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyannis, MA
Level Contributor
72 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Need to give it a second chance”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

My dinner was quite salty. Cheese stuffed ravioli was very good; Duck very good; salad excellent. Service was pleasant, but not especially attentive. We were seated 20 minuites after our reservation time; waited quite some time to be addressed at all and finally to get our orders taken . Slow throughout the evening. Might not have been so bad if we hadn't started late as it was. (8:30). There is a bar in the upstairs dining area and as we were finishing our dinner that area became very active...not quite conducive for the best dinner

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank CarolynHyannis_MA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ventuno is world class and locally sourced”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Ventuno, which took over 21 Federal's place, is more than a replacement. It's elegant but friendly, big but intimate, crowded but relaxed. But more than the decor, the food is absolutely fabulous. Locally sourced where possible, but the genuine Italian twist put on local seafood, with local herbs, seasonings and spices, is just superb. Had two dinners there recently, one during Restaurant Week, and the very reasonable fixed price ($45) allowed four courses, each of which outdid the last. Portions are very large--there were doggy bags for later lunches. The pork belly starter with house-made tagliatelle (also available as a main course) and the shredded pork risotto (only lightly flavored by that melt-in-your mouth pork--can you tell I love pork?) were outstanding. Buttered lobster with corn puree and local bacon (there's that pork again) was delicious, and again resulted in a luncheon portion to take home.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GRays55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London,England
Level Contributor
272 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
“Nantucket favorite for fine Italian cuisine”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Ventuno (the reincarnation of 21 Federal) continues to be one of our favourite
Nantucket restaurants and we dine there quite a few times during the course of our four month summer sojourn on the island. Consistency is the key here: we have never had a disappointing meal and some courses have been exceptional. The atmosphere is very welcoming and the staff is highly professional yet at the same time they have a sense of humour and can roll with the punches. An excellent wine list ( essentially Italian) and bartenders who know how to make a truly dry martini add to the pleasure.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank plkmtk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ventuno also viewed

Nantucket, MA
Nantucket, MA
 

Been to Ventuno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing