We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location.”
Review of Topper's

Topper's
Reserve with OpenTable
Topper's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #31 of 144 Restaurants in Nantucket
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $50 - $50
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Transit: Nantucket Town is nine miles from The Wauwinet. The inn provides complimentary jitney service 12 times daily from 9 AM to 11 PM. We pick up from the Information Bureau on Federal Street, we also pick up from the White Elephant Hotel from 6.00pm-8.00pm on the hour.
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Went to dinner at Toppers by the courtesy boat ride from the White Elephant. Very fun experience, dinner unfortunately was a preset 3 course meal, it gave a few options, but would have liked to order off the regular menu. Oh well, next time. Food was good. Sat out on the deck, was a beautiful night.

1  Thank jimstooth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer H, Manager at Topper's, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2014

Dear Jim,
Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at TOPPER'S. I'm sorry you were not a fan of the preset menu we offer for TOPPER'S by Water, however it is actually the identical menu to our regular dinner menu offering 5 appetizers to choose from and 5 entrees to choose from as well as 6 dessert selections. We offer this menu to be certain that the experience that you book, TOPPER'S by Water, is timed to perfection. Arrival on the boat is at 6pm for your dinner reservation and by offering the menu we know best we can assure a beautiful sunset departure at 8pm.
Next time you dine we would be happy to offer you our deck menu with alternate offerings and ample time to relax to your own schedule and enjoy another TOPPER'S evening.

Best,
Jen and the TOPPER'S Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (280)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

144 - 148 of 280 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2014 via mobile

Nice boat ride from White Elephant. Nice looking venue. Food is nicely prepared but portions are TINY!!!! Expensive!!! Our waitress was nice but she did not clearly communicate that the truffle on the special appetizer would be an additional $35...the portion sizes are small enough but to sneak that past us was truly aggravating. Did not fight it. But can't see returning. Pretty aggravating way overall to spend several hundred$$ for 3 people. Live and learn.

2  Thank HinghamPonch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer H, Manager at Topper's, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2014

Dear HinghamPonch,
Thank you for your helpful feedback. following your evening with us we have made certain to review with the staff the importance of clarifying an additional charge for added on specials such as the winter truffle appetizer that you enjoyed, as well as Caviar that we have as a daily special. We are so lucky to be able to offer truffles of this quality to our guests throughout the summer. Unfortunately they do not fit within the regular TOPPER's by water package which as you know comes with a round trip boat ride from town to the property and a three course dinner for $85 per person total. What a wonderful way to experience Nantucket!

Wishing you the best for the rest of your summer.

Jen and the TOPPER'S Team

Thank you again for your

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2014

Went to Topper's for lunch - setting was beautiful and most important the lobster roll was excellent. I never expected to be able to get a gluten free lobster roll!!! Service was great and will definitely go back again!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 25KathyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer H, Manager at Topper's, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2014

Dear Kathy,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review here on Trip Advisor! I am so glad you were able to experience a "modified" Lobster Roll while out on Nantucket! These days we find so many guests with different dietary restrictions that we really do have to be creative with making menu items work for all. From gluten free bread for lobster rolls or bread baskets, to completely vegetarian tasting menus with vegan options as well. We do try to accommodate most needs were ever possible. We are so glad to hear positive feedback for the efforts! please let us know next time you are visiting us so we can make certain to have your gluten free lobster roll available to you once again.
Best,
Jen and the TOPPER'S Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2014

I had planned a lobsterbake for myself and 17 coworkers on the beach at sunset at Topper's (at The Wauwinet.) Our group arrived by boat and saw the wonderful set-up that had been provided for us right on the beach. The majority of us were excited to enjoy a wonderful dinner outdoors with stunning views of the sunset. However, our boss was concerned about the wind and felt it would be too cool out on the beach and preferred to instead eat inside. Despite the fact all the food stations, the tables, and a bar were already set up on the beach, the Wauwinet staff accommodated our boss's request and moved our 18-person lobsterbake into a private room off the dining room! THAT was good customer service! And to that the wonderful food....and it was a very memorable evening! I give a big thumbs up to the Topper's restaurant/catering staff at the Wauwinet!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank amybro724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer H, Manager at Topper's, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2014

Dear Amy,
Thank you so much for thinking of us once again. It seems as though your event was just yesterday as our season is flying by. We are always happy to help wherever possible and were happy to relocate to the more comfortable space that evening. We hope we will see you again back at TOPPER'S! and remember your event as a fun night for all.

Best,
Jen and the TOPPER'S Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2014

We dined here twice, first being a late lunch while we waited for our room to be ready, the second being breakfast the following morning.
Lunch: It didn't start off so great, we had to wait 15 minutes until a server arrived and it was obvious the fellow that was supposed to be our server was more interested in the party of 8 that was coming rather than just a two top. I am thankful, though, because our new server was a delight and the one we should have originally had sounded very condescending to the other guests. The drinks, a Nantucket Mule and Elder Rose were delicious (we had several) and our meal was also very good. As others have stated, prices are possibly higher than what matched the food/service but we came expecting this. Also, we sat at a lovely corner table out on the balcony with a gorgeous view of the bay and herb garden. I loved watching the chefs come out to pick the herbs needed.
Breakfast: It was nice to be remembered the following morning and while the choices were limited, they were still very good. Our server was extremely friendly and helpful, quick to fill my coffee cup which is always a good thing.
*One side note, they offer a shuttle since it is roughly 9 miles away from the downtown area, which is wonderful.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank pcb11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer H, Manager at Topper's, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2014

Dear pcb11,
wonderful to hear from you in regards to your time with us at TOPPER'S. Thank you for sharing your experience. We have been truly lucky to have had such a busy season once again so I apologize for the delay at the start of your meal and am relieved we were able find the right match to provide the service you were hoping for from TOPPER's.
I will be sure to share this experience with our staff in hopes to relate any inconsistencies in our service as we all work as a team and should be confident that we will provide the same service no matter who is taking care of you for your meal.

We hope to see you again next time you are able to visit Nantucket.

Best,
Jen and the TOPPER'S Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Topper's also viewed

 

Been to Topper's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing