We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A memorable experience”
Review of Topper's

Topper's
Reserve with OpenTable
Topper's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #32 of 141 Restaurants in Nantucket
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $50 - $50
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Transit: Nantucket Town is nine miles from The Wauwinet. The inn provides complimentary jitney service 12 times daily from 9 AM to 11 PM. We pick up from the Information Bureau on Federal Street, we also pick up from the White Elephant Hotel from 6.00pm-8.00pm on the hour.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A memorable experience”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

I highly recommend going to this restaurant if in Nantucket for longer than a day or so. You take an hour long boat ride from near the Children's Beach to the hotel. It was probably the most scenic hour of our whole trip, the town fading away and then the fabulous, ridiculous houses all along the coastline and finally arriving at the hotel/restaurant dock. It was kind of a Great Gatsby-esque experience. We were seated in the lovely gardens, it was quiet and peaceful. I have to say the food was good but not amazing, but that isn't why you are there. Most people had about 30 minutes to wander around before the boat came to pick you back up- most people chose to relax on chaise lounges and watch the ocean. It was quiet, peaceful and isolated. Then the 20ish minute boat ride back to town, still with beautiful scenery.
My husband and I liked it so much, we sent his parents two days later and they had an equally great time. Go, if you can get a seat on the boat!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank MCA333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer H, Manager at Topper's, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Dear Flaneusedumonde,
Thank you for recommending us on Trip Advisor. We truly appreciate your taking the time to write a review of TOPPER'S. I'm so glad you had the chance to experience our complimentary Water Taxi. The Wauwinet lady truly is a unique view of the island and a great added bonus to dinner at TOPPER'S. We hope we will see you again on your next visit to Nantucket.

Thanks again for your time.
Best,
Jen, TOPPER'S
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    47
    33
    30
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“One of the best meals of our lives”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Superb upscale location. Staff are incredibly friendly and knowledgeable. Food is divine. As good as our food in Provence. Take the boat from town to enhance the experience

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank nukiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer H, Manager at Topper's, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Dear Nukiwi,
Thank you so much for your recent review on Trip advisor. I truly appreciate you taking the time to post your comments. What a compliment to be compared with your experience in Provence! We hope we will see you again soon on Nantucket.

Best,
Jen, TOPPER'S
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maryland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A special evening”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

We had a glass of wine while standing on the lawn of the White Elephant's Brant Point Grill, listened to live guitar music, and looked out over the harbor in the late afternoon sun. The Topper's boat then picked us up at the dock, and took us for a wonderful 45 minutes ride past fishing boats, yachts, waterfront houses, and kite sailors while drinking rose champagne in the setting sun. It was a great way to be introduced to Topper's. We were greeted at the dock by the manager, who led us across the lawn to the restaurant, and the hostess led us to our table. we had fantastic wine, 4 types of bread, and the 3 course tasting menu. The chef also sent out a small cup of chilled corn cilantro soup. Our group chose different selections (lobster, pork, and beef), and all of them were delicious. Our servers were very nice, friendly and attentive. We ended the evening with a fast boat ride back across the harbor through the dark, with the wind blowing and spray flying. A memorable evening -- expensive, but a special treat and worth it!

I highly recommend the boat ride -- make reservations at Topper's for your meal, and the boat. If you go for dinner, your reservation will be earlier in the evening because the boat returns at 8 pm. We had 2 hours at Topper's for dinner, but if you want to take more time over your meal, then go one way on the boat, and take a ride back to town.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank worldtraveler1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer H, Manager at Topper's, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Dear World Traveler,
It sounds like you had a really wonderful experience Between the White Elephant and TOPPER'S at The Wauwinet. Thank you so much for sharing your evening with us. I will be certain to pass along your compliments to our team. Unfortunately the Wauwinet Lady boating season is coming to an end but will be up and running again next season at the start of Summer June 23rd 2013. We hope to see you again soon.

Best,
Jen, TOPPER'S
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful Setting, Great Menu - Incredibly Pretentous Staff and Unacceptable Food”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

I am not sure why this restaurant would advertise in the Nantucket guidebook - you immediately get the impression that you are not welcome.

I preface this by saying that we always tip 30%.  Though vacationers now, we have  worked in restaurants in all capacities in college and beyond.  It's not an easy job and we know it.  But a quick word to the wise - money isn't always attached to botox and bling.  You never know where your next customer is coming from, or in this case, not coming from.

We were greeted by a morose looking hostess in a cashmere wrap.  She seemed seriously put out for having to acknowledge us.   No greeting, rather a demand - "do you have reservations?"  It should be noted that both the reservation book and the restaurant were empty - and I mean totally void of traffic. No, we did not have breakfast reservations.  After a few seconds of tortured lip biting, she reluctantly seating us at a table.  Yikes.

The menu looked good, and we shook off the initial hostility - we don't mind paying $18 for eggs because the setting is beautiful.  We ordered mimosas - more lip biting from the waiter, who reminded us that , "in this restaurant, the bar opens at 11 a.m."  Yikes again, but we giggled.  At least ply us with alcohol if we're going to be shunned.

However, we stopped giggling when the eggs benedict arrived, with a congealed looking hollandaise that had separated.  The plate was a mess.  When the waiter arrived to take the plates and asked about the meals, we told him that the benedict was substandard.  There was no response, apology or adjustment made to the bill.  

We bid adieu with a couple more eye rolls and once overs from the hostess and staff.  Overpriced with a great view is fine, but overpriced with a rude staff and  food that I wouldn't serve at home just can't happen.  And off the beaten path so that you have to make it a destination?  Lord, no.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Lindsay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer H, Manager at Topper's, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Dear Lindsay,
Thank you so much for your feedback on Trip Advisor. We opened to the public for breakfast a few years ago now so we are always appreciative of where we can improve. I'm so sorry you felt unwelcome, that of course is never our intention and it saddens me to hear so. We do focus much of our energy on training and will be certain to discuss and share your comments with our team.
Being that we are in such a remote location we do estimate that the majority of our house guests will dine with us for breakfast each morning so we do fill up quite quickly every morning. Even though reservations are not required we do highly recommend at all times so we can best accommodate each of our guests.
I apologize that we were unable to serve your cocktail requests. Just to clear it up it is actually state liquor law that prevents us from serving any earlier.
We hope you will try us some other time as I'm sure that we can improve on your experience. Please don't hesitate to email me directly at jhudson@niresorts.com

Best,
Jen, TOPPER'S
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A highlight of our vacation”
Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

We spent a week on the island relaxing on beaches, shopping downtown, listening to music at Cisco brewery, riding bikes from end to end. One of the highlights of our vacation was a simple lunch at Toppers. We took the water shuttle from the white elephant to the wauwinet on a beautiful day in August. The food was excellent, the service supreme, the blue sky, green grass and white lawn chairs picturesque. What made the lunch most memorable was the boat ride. Shhhhh, it is the best kept secret on the island, and a highlight of our vacation. Get dressed up and enjoy.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank ssbn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer H, Manager at Topper's, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear ssbn,
We are so glad to here about your wonderful trip over to us on the Wauwinet lady. Thank you for sharing your experience with us and our clientele. It sounds like you really experienced some of the best elements that Nantucket has to offer. From our friends at the Brewery so some of our favorite beaches. Thank you for making your way out to TOPPER'S. We are proud to have played a part in what sounds like a wonderful vacation.

Hope to see you soon at TOPPER'S

Best,
Jen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Topper's also viewed

 

Been to Topper's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing