We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Skip it.”
Review of Met On Main

Met On Main
Reserve with OpenTable
Met On Main is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #50 of 141 Restaurants in Nantucket
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Federal Street
Description: Brand new restaurant in Nantucket with the largest outdoor patio, international cuisine, a tartare bar and a pancake bar.
Norwich, Vermont
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Skip it.”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Service unbearably slow. Food ordinary. The "Stuffies" were supposed to have clams in them but saw nary a one. Salad was uninspired.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelGuideReader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    76
    38
    24
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NC
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Bring Back the Even Keel Cafe”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Since its 2012 opening by a Boston-based conglomerate, Met on Main has received much publicity, mostly sanctioned by the up-scale foody community. Our recent visit there upholds the old saw - "It's not what you know; it's who you know." Their positive reviews ring hollow once you've dined there. With a half-full lunch-time dining room, the host had to "see" if he had a table for us (?). Seated in the overly noisy space (I wonder if you can carry on a conversation when the place is busy) without menus, we checked out the new decor. Finally the host arrived to ask would we like drinks. We had to ask for menus as well. When the waitress arrived with three iced teas, she had to be reminded that there should have been one half tea-half lemonade. Her solution was to top off the glass with a little lemonade. No offer to discuss the specials was extended, so we had to ask for that as well. All the menu selections are very artsy and creative, but the combinations are odd - trying too hard. It was difficult for us to find any sandwich that didn't include one "turn-off" ingredient. When asked about the bread choices for sandwiches, the waitress said they were served on pita bread. No mention anywhere on the menu of pita, so we asked if we could have a whole grain bread. She said yes. OK, so far. I asked for plain rather than smoked mozzarella - again no problem. Half an hour later there was still no food in front of us. When you are only on the island for the day, getting lunch in a timely manner is fairly important. Again, the place was NOT busy. After a conversation with the snarky, unapologetic manager, who assured us that the place was new (a year old is "new"?) and would do better "when" we returned, we resolved that would not happen. A few minutes later the sandwiches arrived. Not one piece of whole grain bread to be seen. The waitress clearly didn't know the difference between pita and ciabatta or couldn't communicate with the cook. (I hate to use the word chef for a sandwich jockey.). The mozzarella was un-smoked as requested, but the thin-sliced prosciutto turned out to be a thick slice of smoked ham, which I removed. Guess I was supposed to get that smoky flavor either way! The chicken was dry and the salad dressing/sauce was a no show. No point in sending anything back. We had lost too much of our day already. We finished our food and waited another ten minutes for our check. Having dined repeatedly and happily at the Even Keel Cafe that previously occupied the space, we have resolved to find a different go-to lunch place for our future Nantucket trips.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ny_mainer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Perfect place our chick lunch”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Three of my friends and I had lunch at the cute restaurant and sat out on the back patio. It was delightful! I ordered a salad minus an ingredient and they didn't do as I asked, but I ate it anyway. I like the fact that you can order half size plates. So many places to eat, so little time on the island, so I wouldn't say this is a must stop, but it was good.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank austinteri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great lunch on a rainy day”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

It was cold outside but warm and cozy at Met on Main. Our lunch was tasty and the service friendly and efficient.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank anncpdx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
“Food poisoned”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

My husband and I just ate there on Monday night, 5-13-13. We both ate a $5 hamburger, and shared an order of clam stuffies, broccoli, and fried onion strings. That night my husband didn't feel well, but I felt awful. Yes, I was food poisoned (I'm sure accidentally) and spent an unpleasant night back and forth to the toilet.

Our waitress was great though.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank get-away-together
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Met On Main also viewed

 

Been to Met On Main? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing