We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food, with a new name” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sea Dog Brew Pub - CLOSED

Sea Dog Brew Pub
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Description: NIXS, formerly SeaDog Brewpub, is an upscale independent brewpub located on 15 South Water Street next to the Dreamland movie theatre. NIXS focuses on award winning independent small batch brews, superior craft cocktails and upscale gourmet pub fare. Come try our 14 beers on tap, our famous Moscow mule, or the best lobster roll around. Paying tribute to the Boston Harbor Island, the neighborhood restaurant and bar serves seasonally-inspired fare, capturing the true spirit of New England. NIXS is open daily for lunch and dinner.
NYC
Level Contributor
331 reviews
229 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Good food, with a new name”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2014 via mobile

Had lunch there (new name for bar, Nix's). Really interesting and fun bar food. Watched the World Cup over lunch. Had a nice time. Service was a bit slow, but good food.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank nycfamilyt2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    20
    6
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pittsfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Pub Food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2014

This restaurant is charming and quaint. The food is average pub food. I expected more-especially in downtown Nantucket. Prices were high.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mariellen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantucket, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just not for Nantucket!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014

We gave it a shot... Our entire experience was unpleasant! From dried food on the flatware, greasy glasses, the urine stench in the hall area leading to the restrooms and then the unappetizing food! This place is a wreck and it's even gross at the entry with butts debris. There are much better place to eat in season & off season! Beware!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Beth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jimmy A, General Manager at Sea Dog Brew Pub, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
My apologies for your experience. This does seem pretty harsh and unfortunately different from our most recent reviews. I investigated the specific complaints and am a little confused. If you are certain you have reviewed the right establishment, I would like to hear more about your visit to help address your concerns. Please feel free to contact me directly, and thank you for taking the time to submit a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lunch durning off season....THANK YOU SEA DOG!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014

I have enjoyed this place for Dinner, late night drinks, great Live music & now, lunch.

I was very pleased to find they serve lunch in the off season, often, a hard thing to find in the winter. I was with a good size group and everything we ordered was great.
The flatbreads, salads & burgers were all delicious! The thing I can't wait to have again is the sweet potato fries with FLUFF, Yes, fluff! Reminded me of Thanksgiving sweet potato pie with marshmallow topping. So different and yummy! If you want a fun night out with great food, this place is perfect! The food is always good & portion sizes are huge.

The Bar service is great too!
I have always been served quickly and with a smile, most recently by Kristy & Cici, thank you!

The manager, Jimmy, is another great part of Sea Dog. He is always Very welcoming and fun!
He and his whole crew are a huge part of the Sea Dog appeal.
Go in for a drink, you will want to stay all night!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tuckgirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scituate, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect spot for a group in off-season”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014

We were on Nantucket with our child's swim team for a meet. One of the parents in the group arranged for our large party (about 40 in total) to enjoy a dinner together. The kids/teens sat together while the parents enjoyed each others company at adjacent tables. The manager was great! He and his staff handled all of our requests, kept everyone happy and ensured our dinner was thoroughly enjoyable. The food was very good, tasty and fresh and served promptly. They kept our glasses full and were extremely helpful without being intrusive. I would highly recommend the Sea Dog Pub for a family-friendly spot that can meet special requests and keep everyone in your group happy and well-fed! Thanks for a great night! We'll be back next year!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank AudreyM02066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sea Dog Brew Pub also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing